TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Stipe Mesić, president of Croatia on the cover page of Mladina 31/2007

with 6 comments

Stipe Mesić, president of Croatia

Art director :Robert Botteri
Graphic design: Damjan Ilić
Photogaphy: Borut Peterlin

Stipe Mesić, president of Croatia I said many times and I’ll repeat that one more time! Shoot in raw format and use fixed focal length lenses. Here is an original frame and when you’ll see it on the cover of the Mladina, you will not believe the quality. (At least I hope).

This cover was shot:
Model: Canon EOS 5D ISO Speed: 500
Date: 2007:07:28 19:32:50 Aperture: 8.0
Quality: Focal lenght: 50 mm
Flash: Studio flash Exposure prgm: Manual
Light source: Exposure: 1/100 Sec

PS: This was the most intense interview I’ve done and our time for the interview was literally measured in seconds. When I shot the cover picture other Croatian journalists were already in the room, preparing to do the next interview.

Written by Borut Peterlin

1 August, 2007 at 22:33

Posted in Mladina

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. yeah I agree…raw&ffl lens

    ciril

    2 August, 2007 at 11:08

  2. Good ‘ol 50 mm, (almost, heh) always razor sharp. But which 50 have you used? Sigma f2.8? Or one of Canon’s incarnations? Nice crop!

    Klemen

    2 August, 2007 at 16:53

  3. @Klemen: I think it wasn’t Sigma (Don’t forget: Canon rules!!) Maybe Canon 50 f1.4 or 1.8.
    Am I wrong?

    BTW Borut: Which program do you use for raw processing? (tnx for information;))

    Anonymous

    3 August, 2007 at 19:46

  4. It was Canon macro 50mm f 1:3,5 – laser sharp lens

    I use Canon lenses with exception of sigma 70 – 200 mm f 1:2,8 with only one reason. I bought it only last year, because for my personal photography I do not need telefoto lens and it was much cheaper then Canon. I’m completely satisfied with the quality of Sigma lens, although I never compared with Canon lens.

    Concerning raw images. I use Photoshop, Fotostation and I also used to work with Rawshooter.

    What is your favorite “raw” software?

    B5

    B5

    4 August, 2007 at 09:39

  5. I completelly agree with you, Borut. RAW and fixed focal lenses.
    I use this combination almost all the time. And 1GB CompactFlash. I don’t need bigger card. With 1GB and RAW I have to think twice. 😉

    My favourite RAW software is Pixmantec RawShooter. Very simple to use.

    L

    Lenart Senica

    4 August, 2007 at 14:52

  6. DXO Optics 😉

    Marko Pirc

    4 August, 2007 at 20:20


Leave a Reply

