TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Miha Knific and a new Striptiz portrait

with 9 comments

_mg_3770_borut_peterlin.jpgMiha Knific is a very talented young artist who is active in many fields of art, but he’s most successful in film. His latest project was a film Noč / En nat (Let me sleep), which is full of abstract aesthetics, shot underground in a clean and visually disinfected urban environment.

Again I approached the portrait in a banzai manner. I had no idea how to make a portrait. i had some suggestions to make it by night and let a really long exposure so the Earth would move and stars would leave a trace of light. Anyway I was in hurry so I suggested to do it at 18.00 in a claustrophobic urban environment. Miha suggested a tunnel in downtown of Kranj, but warn us we will have to climb over the fence and it’s illegal. Everything for the art.

_mg_3782_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_3783_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_3792_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_3788_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_3775_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_3745_borut_peterlin.jpgWhen_we_got_there_we_were shocked how narrow the hole is. Miha demonstrated it could be done and I went after him. Assistant Luka Novak gave up on the idea.

The beginning was hard. I was taking some pictures just to see how it looks. Miha brought with him his laptop. Initial idea was to have a laptop with his face on the floor whereas his his body would cast strong shadows on the walls. _mg_3752_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_3751_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_3747_borut_peterlin.jpg I didn’t like it. I didn’t continue in this direction because it would resemble Katja Praznik portrait and on the same time I was affraid to be similar to Samo portrait and again I didn’t want to resemble Peter Gedei portrait in a shaft.
In one moment I decided to remake a feeling of primitive cave scene with a man warming beside a fire. Except instead of fire – a laptop computer. Please don’t take that literally, because it’s just my flow of ideas in development of the picture.

_mg_3755_borut_peterlin.jpg _mg_3763_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_3765_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_3770_borut_peterlin.jpg

I_really_like_the last picture, because the tunnel it’s not dominating and illumination of the tunnel looks like an aura. Picture is concentrated.

Camera Information
Model: Canon EOS 5D ISO Speed: 100
Date: 2007:08:14 20:36:31 Aperture: 5.6
Quality: Focal lenght: 20 mm
Flash: Studio flash 1500 Ws from the back, hand held flash 550 ED on manual 1/64 power
Exposure prgm: B
Exposure: 10 Sec

PS: I still didn’t recover from Fotopub. This year I through lived a massive stress. I don’t know if it’s a joke but on Monday my wife and another person noticed a lot more gray hairs on me. Two days ago I stopped on the highway to have a power nap and 15 minutes later I jumped up, my heart raced mad and I didn’t knew where I was and why I’m not in Novo mesto. I just felt that I missed something and I’m late and Fotopub, Fotopub, Fotopub,…. I’m a spiritual wreckage. I’m keep on working whole day long. I do mistakes and people do get upset at me, some time justifiably and even it is unjustifiably I don’t have an energy to argue. Whatever. Consequently few bridges are burned down. That’s good. I’m torn between too much activities and it’s a good time to reassess. I’m focusing on Perpignan, my exhibition in the HOST gallery in London and Month of photography in Bratislava.

Written by Borut Peterlin

15 August, 2007 at 10:49

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Res dobro, da so prilozeni posnetki “the making of” in “the climbing in” 🙂

    10 sec. exposure je bil na zadnji fotki narejen? Všeč mi je, da poleg zelo dobre osvetlitve obraza žari tudi tipkovnica.

    No, ta portret je res dokaz, vse za umetnost 😉

    LP!

    simonkoležnik

    15 August, 2007 at 13:44

  2. Yes, on the first picture keyboard was overexposed, so I tilted it and keep it dark, so keys were corectly exposed.
    B5

    borut.peterlin

    15 August, 2007 at 15:03

  3. Well, if it comforts you in any way, your Fotpub-input was very well worth it and it deserves all the respect there is. 🙂 What you might experience as stress turns out as precious knowledge for us who gained so much from this year’s festival. And by that I don’t mean just knowing Lokalpatriot’s music repertoire by heart. 😀

    Iva

    15 August, 2007 at 16:39

  4. 🙂

    borut.peterlin

    15 August, 2007 at 17:30

  5. After reading last lines, i feel bad … as one of the participant of Fotopub event, cause i was also the one who took some of you energy …
    But (as a “pay back”) on the other hand i would like to say, that i think there was not even one participant who didnt notice your devotion in fotopub event. Your energy and willingness to give all the knowledge that you have to us, if this is possible. So i think all of other guys would agree with me that you are the best. So all i can say is THANK U. And the sentence that we all learned about you and will remember is how to make the best picture is that, when u said: if you know that you the best that you could do in that moment and if you are aware that you put all your energy in it and know that no one else would do better in this kind of circumstances. And this is what i/we see in each of your pictures including the one up here!

    majah

    15 August, 2007 at 19:41

  6. Cheers Maja for the comforting words, although it’s not as bad as I’ve might wrote it. I had others things in my life then Fotopub and it’s my decision to do it. We organizers were much too occupied, but in spite of everything we’ve managed to run the show.

    Dear Maja, thank you for coming! It’s great that we enjoy the attention from photographers like yourself and as long we will feel needed we’ll do it.

    thanks for the sentence I’ll write it down. Actually it’s a truth. Even when I fail badly I know that I’ve done my best and it’s much much easier.

    This afternoon I’ve spent with Chris and it was very relaxing and inspiring at the same time. You know building castles in the clouds, being in the driver’s seat of your own life… Also my body is cleansed of excessive adrenaline.

    It was a lovely day.
    B5

    borut.peterlin

    15 August, 2007 at 21:26

  7. arbeit macht frei… izpreži B5.:)(

    uroš

    15 August, 2007 at 23:08

  8. Super fotke….kaj super odlične so!!!!

    Ana

    17 August, 2007 at 14:20

  9. hehe… mojmu tipu je ime miha pise se pa knific… lepo an?

    smrkuc

    24 August, 2007 at 21:21


Leave a Reply

