TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

JC’s came from NYC in NM town!

with 26 comments

photo-91.jpgMy_best friend Jean-Christophe Couet from Famu years came today to Novo mesto. He lives in NYC and he’s notorious for many things. On one occasion Žiga Koritnik had an exhibition in NYC and JC came to Žiga and greeted him Žiga, ti čefur, good show. No need to mention that JC’s Slovenian nickname is Čefur.

About the images… Don’t ask… Some pictures were done at FAMU years between 1994 – 97, at Fabrica 2000 and from today. Million dollar question is which pictures are recent? 6140135_borut_peterlin.jpg6142124_borut_peterlin.jpg08_1_3_1_05_borut_peterlin.jpg17_059_borut_peterlin.jpg18_74_borut_peterlin.jpgphoto-81.jpg

Written by Borut Peterlin

19 August, 2007 at 22:40

Posted in Uncategorized

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I saw JC and Borut two years ago when they did their European tour and it was amazing!!!!! You have to see them live because its much better than their studio or documentary work. So much atmosphere!!!! ROCK ON!!!!

    Rumor has it that they will be at Lokal Patriot monday evening…I don’t have tickets but will try to catch them anyway!!!!!!

    Siptar Johnson

    19 August, 2007 at 22:53

  2. I saw JC and Borut in Italy in 2000. It was so cooool!!!! They sang happy birthday to one guy everyday for 6 months! He went insane and had to go to the hospital!!!!!

    THEY’RE THE BEST!!!!!!

    FAR OUT!!!!!!

    jurgey@homo.it

    19 August, 2007 at 22:58

  3. What can I say about those two gems! Talent all the way. I’m only sorry not to have know them better. I use their work in my lectures at FAMU. I mean, hello, who doesn’t!

    Classic.

    Viki

    Viktor Kolar

    19 August, 2007 at 23:00

  4. Borut, I still think you should sketch your pictures before taking them. You know so you know before hand what you photograph.

    O.

    Omar

    19 August, 2007 at 23:04

  5. Omar,

    You’re a fuckin’ idiot!

    Oli

    Oli

    19 August, 2007 at 23:05

  6. Your work has refined the decisive moment and the moment.

    Speachless,

    Henri

    Cartier-Bresson

    19 August, 2007 at 23:07

  7. ANYONE KNOWS THESE TWO GUYS???? SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS BECAUSE THEY’RE ASTONISHING!!!!!

    LOCAL HERO

    19 August, 2007 at 23:08

  8. They’re on the way of saving themselves and the world.

    Dinner at my house wednesday night in Ljubljana? Bring your own bottled water!! I’ve got the tofu!! Party time.

    J

    Janes D.

    19 August, 2007 at 23:12

  9. I hear they have a movie coming out? Anyone know where I can download their music too?

    slick rick

    Rick

    19 August, 2007 at 23:13

  10. It was really nice to meet real Čefur in 2001 beetween all these New Yorkers. Then I was just looking and checking opportunity to have exhibition in Leica gallery – we met there. He was following me and spoke to me after we left the bulding. Few days later I got contract for the exhibition at Kavehaz cafe gallery in Soho ( they moved now I don’t know where)and had later in february my first show in NY. I returned to NY last year where I had my show at Vision jazz festival – when we unfortunately didn’t have chance to meet.

    Žiga K. Čefur

    20 August, 2007 at 07:56

  11. Please, I need an advice ..
    i’ve read you are practicing thai chi … please let me know how to start or which school to choose. i’ve been told it would be a very useful thing for me to do… thnx .. n

    nika

    20 August, 2007 at 10:29

  12. Nika,

    I recommend that you start with the teachings of Jean-Christophe and Borut or as known to the masses: the way of Borutophe, or simply Borutophe-te.

    Depending where you live you can find different books in all the world’s languages: Magyar, Suomi, and Tamil.

    The book I use at the academy of martial arts in Stockholm is “Back in Ostrava” which is the very first of many series teaching breathing techniques and early forms like kicking a milk carton down an empty street.

    Good luck!!!!

    Kliton Poštěváček

    20 August, 2007 at 12:25

  13. Dear Nika,
    that was JC. I’m practicing in Slovensko društvo Tai Ji http://www.drustvo-taijiquan.si/prvi.php
    but I briefly practiced also in London and China. Basically from each teacher you gain something, but after five years you develop your own preferences and you do it the way it suits you better.

    My teacher Marjan Dogša is great and I gain hugely, but in our association we do very little or none meditation, so I get that knowledge somewhere else. My advice is to just try it out and visit few teachers and you’ll see and feel the difference.

    On the end of the day it’s on you what you’ll gain from Tai Ji.

    Enjoy,
    B5

    borut.peterlin

    20 August, 2007 at 12:36

  14. Gay.

    Tomaz Feher

    20 August, 2007 at 12:38

  15. I heard that Stjepan Draca and Jure Breceljnik were a homosexual couple when they studied in Prague but kept it hush-hush as to not direct attention from the Slovene media. Wasn’t there some pictures of them sleeping together or a series of them kissing?

    Is that true?

    El Presidente

    20 August, 2007 at 12:58

  16. Only JC and Borut really know what happened there in Prague during the mid 90’s. I met Borut a year ago in Perpignan and asked him about it…he was a bit off put by the question and reacted rather violently. “Who the F— are you? Don’t come following me! F— off”…that’s how he answered.

    When I met JC in London end of June I also asked him about the infamous “Jure and Stepo” coming out of the closet story…he smiled and then headbutted me…but then as he helped me back to my chair he simply said: ” Sorry I thought you were someone else, and left “…He didn’t even pay his bill and had already lunch with a friend before I came. He made me pay for it…but WHAT AN EXPERIENCE TO MEET HIM!!!!

    WOWOWOWOWOWOW!!!!!

    Bor Thorsson

    20 August, 2007 at 13:04

  17. My favourite Borut and JC story is when they drove back to Fabrica after lunch ( it was a little far away and it began raining ) and they took them on 1 hour drive, got lost, and played Balkan music so loud that the poor girls couldn’t even show their discomfort.

    They were so upset, understandbly so, and as they arrived late to a meeting Borut and JC asked them to share petrol expenses.

    They almost lost it!!!!

    I mean what a couple of cool guys to torture someone in this way. FANTASTICO CLASSICO.

    Antonin

    20 August, 2007 at 13:13

  18. Borut, thnx .. untill the course starts, I’ll try to master an early form of »kicking a milk carton down an empty street.« 🙂 n

    nika

    20 August, 2007 at 13:59

  19. Nika,

    You are on the way to wisdom, but you must know that Borut just randomly picked someone on google Ukraine and then had his assistant write the blog.

    The truth is that not every one has wisdom, or is “talented”…if you are in the search for truth I recommend that you go to Mecca. Of course you won’t learn anything there, but the food is brilliant.

    Hope I was helpful.

    ST

    Sheep Taar

    20 August, 2007 at 14:36

  20. This blog is horrible! I can just imagine it’s only one guy writing theses comments! I mean wake up man!!!! It’s 2007!!! No one reads blogs anymore it’s over like techno.

    Tibor Featherline

    20 August, 2007 at 14:41

  21. I agree with you Tibor! Spot on! Blogs are soooo two weeks ago. I for one never read them.

    Homer

    20 August, 2007 at 14:43

  22. Homer you rock…finally someone who is progressive and contemporary. I just can’t understand people who blog…makes no sense to me. It’s a waste of time.

    Tibor Featherline

    20 August, 2007 at 14:45

  23. I know I know…What a bunch of morons. People just chatting back and forth over the internet!!!! FUJJJJJJJ

    Homer

    20 August, 2007 at 14:46

  24. thank you for leaving comments JC!
    B5

    borut.peterlin

    20 August, 2007 at 14:48

  25. hi everbody,

    i hope you’re enjoying your monday and please leave a comment. every comment you leave is later donated to help the starving children in japan.

    cheers

    jean-christophe

    20 August, 2007 at 15:06

  26. JC, I suppose you have a lot of free time … good for you. what about spending new year’s in darfur?
    N

    nika

    21 August, 2007 at 08:38


Leave a Reply

