TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New Striptiz portrait – Rajko Pertot

with 4 comments

p-striptiz_rajko-pertot-2_b5_borut_peterlin.jpgRajko Pertot is truly extraordinary artist. Before the shoot I had a pleasure to talk with him about his work for almost an hour. I was amazed how involved does he get in his performances. When he do a performance he don’t do it just for a few minutes or an hour, but he do it for a week or more. His major work includes scenography.

_mg_5370_borut_peterlin.jpgThe picture was taking with two cameras at the same time. Digital camera makes noise on really long exposures, so I reckon to shoot it also on 6 x 9 slide film with Fuji GSW 690 III. Good thing to do, because the shoot went as following:

_mg_5359_borut_peterlin.jpgI tried to juxtapose Rajko against northern star. But it didn’t work out, because of light pollution + he would needed to be still for at least an hour or more and since around northern star, “stars” don’t move much I decided to photograph him against eastern sky where light pollution was the least.

And since I wanted to have really long exposure, I photographed him against juniper bush, so Rajko could move away after I will illuminate him with detached flash. Because I was shooting with two cameras at the same time I had carefully plan how the shoot will go. It went like this:

1) Fuji 6×9 focus on Rajko, opening a shutter, illuminating with flash Rajko and bush from the back. Then I put a lens cap on the lens.

2) With digital Canon I focused on Rajko and did the same as written above (with exception that I forgot to lit the bush from behind)

3) Then I set focus of both cameras on infinity (on stars) and let them expose for about an hour. Rajko went home while i was still exposing stars.
While exposing battery on my digital camera went out and my doubts on digital in this case proved to be justified. I wondered if the electricity went out in the middle of long exposure will something still be recorded on my CF card? The answer is YES and this is the image that was recorded:_mg_5366_borut_peterlin.jpg

And this is the image that my Fuji 6×9 recorded. p-striptiz_rajko-pertot_b5_borut_peterlin.jpgp-striptiz_rajko-pertot-2_b5_borut_peterlin.jpg I’ll crop the image, but with slide 6×9 you can do that 🙂

Written by Borut Peterlin

19 September, 2007 at 22:57

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice photo, but the reflection of a car light and license plate in the back is somehow disturbing…

    Maja

    20 September, 2007 at 11:29

  2. It is disturbing, although it’s hard to drive without the lights. Little digital make up and we’re OK.
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    20 September, 2007 at 13:36

  3. Really good work done here… I like it=)

    Marko

    20 September, 2007 at 20:46

  4. He should’ve waited for the whole exposure holding still…. (and repeat if necessary) 🙂

    ivan

    20 September, 2007 at 21:54


Leave a Reply

