TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New Striptiz portrait – Andrej Hočevar, a poet

Andrej Hočevar

Andrej Hočevar is a poet and this picture was inspired by his thoughts about the poems.

“Don’t ask a poet about what are his poems about. In the worst case he will lie, possibly he will not know and in the best case he will be sincere and becasue of that you will be offended. Once I’ve visited a friend. Few month later I showed her a poem that I’ve wrote in her place. She was offended when I told her that it’s talking about a friend whose poems I was reading. Other day a women was lying next to me in my mind I had other women and in front of my eyes a picture of the third one. I wrote a poem about crows.
Poems are never about things you would like them to be about.”

It’s true also for photography. Photographs are not about the things being photographed, but are about the author and way they were photographed.
With Andrej we’ve exchanged few emails and in one of it his last sentence was have a nice day and my neighbor is hanging laundry.

Logical conclusion was to make a picture of him hanging stuffed birds, not to make a picture about him. Don’t you agree?

HERE is a second selection of pictures from the shoot. Thanks to Maja Hitij for assiting me, Gostilna Jurman for lending me stuffed bird, to unknown owner of the garden which we’ve invaded for the shoot and my wife and Maja – sister in law for coming up with a tip that Jurman could lend me stuffed birds after I failed to get them at the museum.

Written by Borut Peterlin

21 September, 2007 at 16:21

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Se ene cisto nora fotka iz serije Striptiz. Kje dobis take ideje?

    denis zupan

    21 September, 2007 at 16:48

  2. Great photos and what wonderful big clouds for background!

    camille

    21 September, 2007 at 18:51

  3. Where do I get that sort of crazy ideas? Well I’m enjoying myself doing it and my imagination was always rich. I’m a rich man!

    I have a millage in photography what allows me to improvise, to be confident that I’ll do it even if odds are against me.

    For this picture for instance I made an appointment at the museum to borrow some birds. The person didn’t want to communicate on the phone so he said we’ll find something for you. On the day I showed up (on the day when we’re closing editorial) the guy obviously woke up on wrong foot and he just show me the exhibition of birds and told me that I can’t move them I would have to photograph Andrej in front of the exhibition. I called my wife and we managed to find stuffed birds in next hour. Very stressful and I would give up if it wasn’t my wife’s help.

    Basically I’m huge fan of my work and I can’t wait to see how the new picture will look like and I do everything that every new picture is made in the best possible way I’m capable of doing it. Even if it’s lousy, It’s still best that I could do at the time at the circumstances.

    I’m like a judge with long white beard. Ideas are emerging from nowhere and I’m deciding which ideas will go into forever and which will be cursed back to past.

    B5

    borut.peterlin

    21 September, 2007 at 23:54

  4. Your imagination is really unlimited 🙂 I like the word “weird” under keywords

    Maja

    24 September, 2007 at 09:32

  5. hey Maja….
    I’m East Europe, but I’m OK!

    B5

    24 September, 2007 at 11:00

  6. […] and times again and usually the reality brings me the most irrational concepts. Like the one of Andrej Hočevar… Anyhow I hired Rajko’s model for this portrait and I will not even ask for a […]


Comments are closed.

