TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Matej Kejžar new Striptiz portrait

with 8 comments

Matej KejzarCommissioned by Mladina weekly for Striptiz rubric I made a portrait of Matej Kejžar. Matej Kejžar is a dancer and choreographer. He directed a dance performance of a fairy tell Little Red Riding Hood in a modern, contemporary way. The interpretation is based on a book The Uses of Enchantment by Bruno Bettelheim. The premiere will be on Friday at Cankarjev dom at 8pm.
The picture is shot in Prirodoslovni Muzej in Ljubljana. I received a brief on Friday evening and didn’t thought on it until Sunday morning. I started to organize the shoot on Monday at 8:10 from my car on my way to Ljubljana. I was convinced that everything will turn OK. In year 1994 I made an entry exams to FAMU academy with a Little Red Riding Hood fairy tell. With photography we had to illustrate some text and I wrote a second part of Little Red Riding Hood fairy tell. Basically it was happening in the city, Little Red Riding Hood was a bad guy and wolf (stray dog) was a victim. In the spring I even made a video where you could see the book.

Of course I knew I’ll flip the concept on it’s head. Another image was resembling in my head. When I was working in Serbia with Marzio Mian / Corriere della Sera he mentioned to me that he used to work with a South African photographer Pieter Hugo that won a World Press Photo Award with THIS IMAGE.

I’m making this small quizzes on Facebook, but it’s well important to be well versed in history of photography, to be visually literate, to know what others are doing and how are they are doing. You see, I didn’t copy the Hugo’s image, but I did used it as an inspiration.

Written by Borut Peterlin

10 December, 2007 at 23:27

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lahko kdaj pričakujemo striptiz self-portrait of Borut Peterlin?

    matjaž

    11 December, 2007 at 01:44

  2. Pa saj sem ga naredil in bil je objavljen v Mladini čez pol strani!
    img_3208

    B5

    borut.peterlin

    11 December, 2007 at 02:18

  3. Hey, that Pieter Hugo picture was one of my favorites from that year WPF!

    ivan

    11 December, 2007 at 04:40

  4. Ups, moja napaka. 🙂

    matjaž

    11 December, 2007 at 10:24

  5. uau, noro … hudo … dobr … supr. so se le omehčali v prirodoslovcu, ane. 🙂

    majah

    11 December, 2007 at 15:23

  6. Ej, res so mi šli na roko! Še posebej, ker je Matej zamudil pol ure in potem sva s kustosom čakala in čakala. Na koncu se je vse dobro izšlo.

    B5

    B5

    11 December, 2007 at 15:53

  7. Hudo dobr! Bravo!

    Samo

    11 December, 2007 at 19:06

  8. Yes, this is one of my favorite Striptiz portrait! Super happy!
    B5

    B5

    11 December, 2007 at 21:11


Leave a Reply

