TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New Striptiz portrait – Meta Grgurevič

leave a comment »

Meta grgurevic_9603
Meta Grgurevič is a contemporary artist.

What do you do when you have an assignment to make a portrait of a person who does not want to be on the picture? And you have to make a portrait. And I’m not talking about paparazo portrait, but for my beloved Striptiz portait of Mladina weekly!

Frankly I don’t know. I certainly tried to get as much information about the artist as I could get, but it didn’t happen, so I had to depend on my notorious banzai tactic.
We tried many possible way to make a picture, even she posed in the first plane of the picture (exactly what she didn’t want to) but didin’t work out. I knew I love the fence and three and her art pieces and she is very photogenic, but it was cold, I was tired, she didn’t want to be in the picture, etc…
I know I can make a good picture in any circumstances if I have enough time. Luckily Meta was very patient and cooperative and didn’t mind the cold. She even climbed on the tree!

I knew I have very chaotic picture in front of me and all I needed was an order. It was hard to find a perfect angle the balance all the elements, choose right art work, but on the end of the day we were both satified with the portrait.

Written by Borut Peterlin

8 January, 2008 at 00:53

Leave a Reply

