TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Coverpage of Mladina weekly 02/2008

with 20 comments

mladina naslovnica 02_2008

Authors: Alenka Peterlin and Borut Peterlin

Design: Damijan Ilič

Creative director: Robert Botteri

For large picture click ALL SIZES!

Creative director gave me a brief and suggested that I might try to do the landscape made from food as I already published it on my blog.

I told him I’m realy bad table top photographer in a small flat, but I’ll give it a try. I wanted to do it in my parents big garage, but my wife insisted that we can do it in our 18 square meters kitchen. So I brought my developing baths and 20kg of sand to shape up a landscape. Click HERE to see stages of the making of the landscape. My wife Alenka was in charge of details and I was working on the landscape, framing, building.

_MG_8836

In the beginning was very hard because our two daughters (4y and 10 months) wanted to play with us, but when they went to bed everything was much easier. The hardest thing for me was how to frame the landscape and make a composition. Alenka was gluing together pieces with silicon pistol and she burned her fingers many times.

On the end we were super happy that we pulled it off. Damijan Ilić added sky and did the graphic design.

Written by Borut Peterlin

9 January, 2008 at 19:10

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tole je pa čist na foro slike “zimska idila”. 🙂 Sicer pa fino.

    rookie237

    9 January, 2008 at 20:08

  2. Izgleda znano 🙂 Dobra realizacija.

    Klemen

    9 January, 2008 at 21:34

  3. super fajn.

    artaud

    9 January, 2008 at 22:31

  4. […] On my wordpress blog you can see new coverpage of Mladina weekly! […]

  5. hehe.. faca si. po moje boš kmal še oglaševalsko podjetje odprl.

    majah

    10 January, 2008 at 10:15

  6. Haha, there is no such a thing as Slovenian landscape without the church. Congratulations on detail.

    J.J.B.

    10 January, 2008 at 10:54

  7. EXACTLY! We wanted to have a house on a hill, then Alenka build a chapel and I said let’s make a church on a hill. There is no Slovenian hill from which at least ten churches are seen.

    This issue of Mladina will be flooded with my pictures. I’ve worked really hard on the daily politics events and I made few really nice Flower – Power pictures. I’ll try to publish it this week.

    Tomorrow exhibition and on Saturday I have a commission in Austria by Financial Times from London.

    Hope to see you all tomorrow!

    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    10 January, 2008 at 12:25

  8. hehe zakon. si bom prav kupil to številko. 😉

    ciril

    11 January, 2008 at 00:53

  9. ta številka je poplavljena z mojimi fotografijami. Me je novi fotourednik teral kot sem jaz njega 🙂

    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    11 January, 2008 at 07:27

  10. Hehe, vrhunsko!

    ivan

    11 January, 2008 at 11:37

  11. hehe. bravo Lesi. kako že pravjo: vse se plača, vse se vrača. (sorry B5, sam po moje si prav užival, kr priznej) 🙂

    majah

    11 January, 2008 at 12:06

  12. Super naslovnica!

    Ksenija

    11 January, 2008 at 17:31

  13. Mene te klobase in te rolice v hisici spomnijo na tole KLIK

    markopigac

    15 January, 2008 at 06:31

  14. b5 – snemal pa nisi tega kulinaricnega koticka? pa se bolje – zaupaj nam, kdo je pojedel cerkvico? 🙂

    markopigac

    16 January, 2008 at 05:55

  15. I wrote it befre that this commercial was an inspiration, but foodscapes are not from yesterday.
    Carl Warner is great for instance:
    http://www.neatorama.com/2008/01/05/carl-warners-foodscapes/

    It’s a kind of photography like portraiture. It’s hard to say that everybody is copying Nadar, isn’t.

    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    16 January, 2008 at 07:53

  16. b5 – nisi odgovoril na glavno vprasanje. kdo si je privoscil cerkvico? 🙂

    (pa brez cenzure)

    markopigac

    17 January, 2008 at 17:41

  17. No, cerkvica je bila zlimana s silikonom, takim, kot jih imajo za cvetlične aranžmaje. prav tako salama in sir sta ležala na pesku in si lahko predstavljaš, kako bi hrustalo.

    Skratka hči se je igrala par minut s cerkvico in potem fertig.

    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    17 January, 2008 at 22:29

  18. Really cool! I have to try and get my magazine to hire you. Our covers are always too boring!

    camille

    23 January, 2008 at 17:19

  19. Ta fotka je nora, ampak zares nora! Kapo dol 😉

    Denis Zupan

    23 January, 2008 at 17:42

  20. […] With a help of my lovely wife Alenka (check her site) we made an improvised table top studio. I needed clay to shape up a face on which I will lay vegetable. I got it from my neighbor Vesna Majes Klančičar (she makes fantastic pottery). And here is the result. I didn’t use almost no photoshop, just fine tunning. The most surprising thing was that when I send it to creative director, he asked me how (and why) did I portray a particular Slovenian politician? Did I? So I’m asking you does it resemble to some Slovenian politician? PS: Do you remember last vegetable art work by A5 and B5? LINK… […]


Leave a Reply

