TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Portrait of writer Miha Mazzini demolishing typewriter with his fist

with 2 comments

MIha mazzini

Today I’ve made a potrait of Miha Mazzini, a writer, screenwriter, editor of Planet portal, computer programmer, film director,……. and also a holder of black belt in karate. Yesterday I was told out that Jure Aleksič (my favourite Mladina‘s journalist) will write a profile of Miha Mazzini, so I called Jure first and then Miha to get more information and make a concept for the shoot. It turned out that he’s going abroad and he was in real hurry, so we decided to do the portrait on Sunday.

I really don’t know where my ideas for pictures come from. I have this attitude of I’ll figure out the answer and then an answer slip of my tongue. And so was also with Miha. I asked him if he has a typewriter and he said no and that he used to study computers, so he was probably the first Slovenian writer who adopted computer as a tool. Then he added it would be a bit cheap anyway writer with a typewriter… and then I immediately answered “for sure, but I would photograph you as a karate master braking a typewriter with your fist.” I don’t know where this idea came from, but we both agreed it’s splendid. I got worried how will I organize everything on Sunday. I found a typewriter for 20 EUR on http://www.bolha.com, called a Makoto club, which is the most photogenic martial club in Ljubljana, but today club was closed. Nevertheless owner who met me only once for 10 seconds, hide the key of the club for me so I could do the shoot. Incredible!

After the shoot I went to Hiša veščin for a first lesson of Shaolin Kung Fu. It’s great. Very, very similar to Tai Ji that I’ve been practicing for six years, but of course much faster. It’s great that we have first hour meditation, streaching and QuiGong. Second hour we have kung fu and it’s very physical demanding. I did keep up the pace, although now my muscle sore. I met also a Tai Ji teacher and he invited me to his class of push hands Tai Ji. Jolly!!!

Next class of QuiGong and Shaolin Kung Fu is on Tuesday at 19.00.

Written by Borut Peterlin

27 January, 2008 at 23:49

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Super je! kaj se ti ne spomneš vse:)

    Samo

    28 January, 2008 at 11:08

  2. The Martial Art of blogging, breaking through… Nice Photograph.

    sansootennessee.com

    1 February, 2008 at 17:56


Leave a Reply

