TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Back from London

with 9 comments

Guardian
OK. I had super busy week. I had a meeting with photoeditor Kate Edwards of Guardian and the meeting went good. I mean I didn’t had a story to offer, but she really liked my work and we exchanged information how we could cooperate in the future.

I met also editor of Foto 8 Jon Levy. I presented my Flower power him and he sounded intrigued. The project is not yet finished and we talked to meet again in May and then he’ll decide if it’ll be published.

I had meetings with two greatest agencies in the world Getty and Corbis. Getty meeting went really good, but crucial person for the meeting was ill and couldn’t join us. We discuss generous plans, so I might go again to London to discuss the matter throughly.

By a recommendation of my friend I went to see important people at Corbis who are dealing with ZEFA hi-end stock production. I was told that my creative portraits are as made for them, but guys couldn’t believe I brought portraits with me. They said is not what they do, but I’m still not convinced, that aesthetic applied in my portraits is not for them. Anyhow I don’t want to do stock photography at least not until I can do reportage and portraits.

A lot of options are open, but basically it comes down to one question. Can I develop from local photographer to a global photographer? I know how to take pictures and I have a network to sell them, so it comes down to the production of stories that are interesting throughout the world. I’m aware that I’m in the position where I need to care of my family and can’t afford to live of my savings, so I decided to do it on a long run. For this year I have two stories in mind one in South Africa and one in Ukraine.

Written by Borut Peterlin

24 February, 2008 at 00:01

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hi,
    I should just drive around this city and take photos of all the buildings I’ve been humiliated in…..

    vod

    24 February, 2008 at 04:56

  2. ciao vod,

    I know what ou mean. But I don’t take it that harsh. It’s open market and this are corporate people that are interested in making money. I know I’m interesting as long as I can make some benefits for them and lets be sincere vice versa.

    I’ll write a post on my views on competitiveness.
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    24 February, 2008 at 07:39

  3. It does come down to the production of the stories interesting to whole lot of people, but even more important is distribution of those stories. In the age of image oversupply distribution is more important than ever. Being involved in distribution machine like Getty sort of solves that problem, but there are other options and all of them have to be exploited if one wants to survive in this competetive market.

    I also think that being involved in commercial stock production wouldn’t hurt you either.You don’t have to do it all the time, returns are better than on editorial (so are production costs involved) and it would do good for your commercial portfolio and that could be used to fund editorial projects.

    ivan

    24 February, 2008 at 11:05

  4. Competition rhymes with institution.

  5. Ciao ivan,

    I agree, with you but production for Zefa is something completely different then I (I could say we) imagine. I was told that per day I would need to make at least 30 images and that first shoot would be on my cost. A shoot usually costs between 5000 and 8000 EUR. I didn’t ask in details because I didn’t want to make situation worse 🙂

    But you are right. I’ll get engaged with corporate and advertising photography and make two big photojournalistic projects per year. Actually I’m already doing corporate photography and this month is already exceeding my income from photojournalism.

    Nevertheless photojournlism is where my heart is and I said that even to Zefa personnel, winning some points on being sincere 🙂

    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    24 February, 2008 at 12:58

  6. Lepo slisat. Tudi sam ugotavljam, v koliksni meri se sploh lahko prezivi samo od fotoreporterstva. Sem tudi jaz ze delal komercialno fotografijo za oglasevalsko agencijo, ampak nekako ni zalaufalo. Nekaj sicer se delam, ko pac pade, ampak tega ni veliko. Zato toliko vec delam fotoreporterstva in se pac nekako ohranjam nad vodo. 😀 Tudi z uredniki se je res najbolje dobiti na stiri oci, a kaj, ko stevilke na racunu tako hitro padajo, ko letis ne vem kam. Zato sem z njimi (predvsem Getty) bolj na mailu. Ampak to gre vse bolj mimo kot prdec v vetru 😀 Saj enkrat pa mogoce bo. Do takrat pa bom pac vse zgodbe in presezke delal bolj zase. Tudi to je nekaj.

    Malo me firbec matra, kaksni zgodbi imas v planu, ampak.. pustimo se presenetiti. 😀

    Dax

    24 February, 2008 at 17:53

  7. Ej Dax,

    Saj si še zelo mlad! Zdi se mi, da moramo vsi skozi to fazo. Kar se mene tiče sem v tvojih letih drago plačeval študijske klopi in to direktno rečem mladcem, da sem bil v njihovih letih zadolžen do grla.

    Pač izobrazba veliko ostane in glede na to, da redki moji sošolci dejansko živijo od fotografije, ni nikakor garant uspeha. Zame je vsekakor izobrazba neprecenljiva prednost, ki mi omogoča večjo agilnost, kvaliteto, razgledanost, disciplino in nenazadnje delovne navade, ki mi omogočajo, da moja družina živi od moje fotografije.

    Pa še bajto sem smo se lotili delati.
    Rock in roll!
    B5

    PS: O projektih ne bom govoril javno, ker so še v povojih in se zna vse sfižiti. Osebno ti vse brez problema povem.

    Borut Peterlin

    24 February, 2008 at 18:38

  8. Borut, vso srečo!
    Pri bajti tudi. 🙂

    le samo

    25 February, 2008 at 10:15

  9. Passing your portfolio around to these big agencies can really take a lot from you. It can be a humiliating or humble experience. Having put your sweat, blood and tears into your work and only to have some bloke thumb through it with one eye on his phone and another on his coffee can be decieving. The simple truth is that you must keep going and exhaust all possibilities and remember that you can create new venues where you work matters.

    Remember that you can’t show crap. Bad work doesn’t go as far as good work.

    This blog sucks

    25 February, 2008 at 15:00


Leave a Reply

