TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Portait of Silva Čušin

with 2 comments

20080312_silva cusin
In this issue of Mladina there is an article about famous actresses Silva Čušin. Journalist Deja Crnovič briefed me briefly about her work and I was intrigued by the fact, that Mrs. Čušin have really contemplating preparation before the show. So I asked her to do her portrait outdoors, on the balcony of Drama with her eyes closed.
bject with one fsh

PS: I light the subject with one flash and a softbox. I bought a new softbox that is quite large, something like 1,2 by 0,8 meters. My flash balcar 750 Ws is a bit weak for outdoor photography, but it’s just enough for a portrait of one person. The only trick in this portrait is that you evaluate properly how to mix ambient with flash light. I decided to set it against the sun and setting a softbox close above her face. As you know if you shoot against the sun, colors are desaturated and even more if you underexpose ambient light. Then you add up a light on the subject with flash. Simple as that. I don’t know if you tried it out, but it’s really important what’s the proportion of softbox size and the distance of softbox to the subject. If you have a small normal attached flash you could not make the affect like that. Also with my flash and soft-box of 1 meter I can not illuminate evenly the whole body posture. I would need at least twice as large and set it further back for the whole body figure. I guess this feeling how light works you get with the experience. Wind was there by coincidence and I set up a person so it was against the wind and I used it as an additional element. I just now checked this picture on a PC and I realized it’s much to contrasty on PC settings. I’ll correct it.

Written by Borut Peterlin

14 March, 2008 at 11:42

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kolk mi je pa tole dobr osvetljeno! Prosim, as alwalys, a opišeš, kako si osvetlil. Verjetno precej simpl, ampak me res zanimajo nastavitve. Fala! 😀

    Dax

    14 March, 2008 at 21:22

  2. Yes, I’m interested too. And her hair is great. Was it wind or you did it by yourself?

    Igor Motl

    14 March, 2008 at 22:28


Leave a Reply

