TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

My 10 sec of fame on BBC!

with 7 comments

B5 on BBC
BBC published a story on Media tension in Slovenia and I have a 15 seconds of appearance. My goodness somebody will get super pissed!

I have an anecdote from the occasion. I was doing my usual work, when our Editor in Chief Grega Repovž came with BBC crew. They asked me to flip through some images and I did that. During the conversation I mentioned that I did postgraduate studies at London College of Printing and a journalist said. Oh, I wanted to get to that college as well, but I didn’t pass the entry exams. Well, I said, it’s only for posh people anyhow.

We laughed our guts out of the situation that could be taken as an insult from a East European to a BBC journalist. I love to flip roles of this East – West European. When I was in Fabrica I had a visit card with a picture of my neighbor farmer, who was boiling schnapps for a third day in a row and he was pissed as hell. I photographed him in front of barn and under the picture I wrote.

8_12_03.jpg

My name is Borut and I’m East Europe, but I’m OK. I’m like you! Do you like me?

Written by Borut Peterlin

16 March, 2008 at 19:26

Posted in personal thoughts

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cool, but I don’t see how freedom of journalism is a problem in Slovenia. It looks like ZARES is the one pulling the strings.

    Iztok

    16 March, 2008 at 20:19

  2. BBC just published this story as well:

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/onthisday/hi/dates/stories/march/16/newsid_2808000/2808379.stm

    Coincidence? I think not. Everyone always knew that once Slovenia would ban smoking in hospitals there would be tension in the media. I like Borut Peterlin because he is not afraid to say what he thinks. He was the first one who taught me that you didn’t need to have talent to accomplish anything. Smart man, very smart…like the BBC. I llike ’em A LOT.

    Eeztuhk Chefoor

    17 March, 2008 at 00:19

  3. Borut, the picture is not sharp. I can’t tell if it says BBC or жкк. Which is it? Please stop by for a consultation you are long over due…and get a haircut hippy.

    Viki K.

    17 March, 2008 at 00:21

  4. How do we get to see this video? Where was it posted?

    JC

    17 March, 2008 at 00:22

  5. Here it is.
    http://search.bbc.co.uk/cgi-bin/search/results.pl?q=slovenia&go_x=0&go_y=0&go=go&edition=i
    otherwise it’s hyperlinked with first sentence.
    I knew I could expect feedback from you Pan Poštivaček 🙂

    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    17 March, 2008 at 06:38

  6. Brilliant. I love the close-up and the cut away to you “working” whilst that monotone British accent just keeps on going. You Slovenes are just sooooo cute. Anyway congratulations on being on BBC.

    JC

    17 March, 2008 at 13:18

  7. Wonder what you guys think about trying to censor movie Fitna?

    Iztok

    29 March, 2008 at 15:06


Leave a Reply

