TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New Striptiz portrait – Matjaž Kačičnik

with 14 comments

Striptiz portrait rubric
For my next Striptiz portrait I photographed Matjaž Kačičnik. He is a photographer who works with archaeologists in Egyptian pyramids. He is also played a key role in organizing an exhibition of Egyptian culture in Cankarjev dom in Ljubljana. Today he had an opening of his photographic exhibition. Yesterday I started to think how to make his portrait. I visited the exhibition full of really fascinating relics, hieroglyphs and other objects. When I entered a black sort of crypt with sarcophagus I was fascinated and suddenly I saw this situation of photographer lying in a coffin beside a sarcophagus. It’s basically repeating the pattern of funeral habits of Egyptians with our habits.

It was pretty weird to organize the shoot. I asked Matjaž if he’s up to and he said yes. Then I called Cankarejv dom to get a permission to make the shoot. They said yes as well. Then I called Žale funeral company. They were really cooperative, but when I was talking on the phone a college laughed his guts out, when I asked if I could borrow a coffin for a day. They asked me if I want a new one or a second hand. A new one if it’s not much to ask. I guess they have a coffins that they use for deceased before they are cremated.

Anyhow technically I had all my lights ready, but I decided to illuminate it only with neat spotlights that were used for the exhibition.

Written by Borut Peterlin

19 March, 2008 at 21:43

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice touch is that you used ambiental light. It creates some kind of piramid atmosphere (I’ve never been inside one but I imagine it like some dark place with some small sources of light – and I saw it in movies 🙂 ). Must say that this portrait is not like others in Striptiz opus but it is possible that different use of light caused this. No matter, I like it. To be honest, not blown away like with other portraits. I don’t know what is it that I like but I can say that individualy, I like the reflection of Matjž, also I like the paralel between habits and I believe that fact is most important.
    Best regards,
    Igor

    Igor Motl

    19 March, 2008 at 23:30

  2. Nice touch is that you use ambiental light so it created some kind of piramidal atmosphere (I’ve never benn in one but I imagine it like dark place with some small sources of light and I’ve seen it in movies 🙂 ). I’m not blown away like with others from Striptiz opus but I like it. It looks different from yours previous work but I believe it is ‘couse you use different kind of ilumination. Fragmentary (hope this is the right word), I like the paralel between habits, his calm face, reflection…
    Igor

    Igor Motl

    19 March, 2008 at 23:36

  3. Thumbs up!

    Anonymous

    20 March, 2008 at 10:56

  4. I’m not blown up away by the comments as I usually am. I feel that your fan base is too loyal and perhaps fear challenging your photography. Could this be because they are not good photographers themselves? Photographers can be a strange breed of artists because once they uncover enough confidence, good or not, they’re going to be believe they’re the best!

    Where is Iztok when we need him, he always has something to say.

    Dzejsi

    20 March, 2008 at 11:19

  5. Iztok is in NYC right now. Trying to book an earlier flight home.

    In any case… I don’t know why but I don’t like this picture for some reason. Perhaps I don’t see dynamics in it and this is a part of striptiz that was attractive to me.

    Iztok

    20 March, 2008 at 12:08

  6. woohooo! huda! :):) jz sm mislu da ga boš tko na foro hieroglifov…da bo poziral v tistih pozah kot del nekega zaporedja….sam tole je še much better!

    Ciril

    20 March, 2008 at 12:11

  7. Who here thinks that Anonymous’ comment ” thumbs up” is none other than Borut Peterlin himself?

    JC

    20 March, 2008 at 13:53

  8. Ha, got an earlier flight out of LGA. Chilling in an airport launge for next few hours now.

    Iztok

    20 March, 2008 at 14:32

  9. Since the comments are drying up here and no one is stepping up for a challenge I will challenge you with this :

    You can hide behind your blogs and show off your 1000 friends and good times on Facebook but you cannot hide from that clip!

    JC

    20 March, 2008 at 16:57

  10. What is this JC? Which video did you meant? Your comments make my blog ….. different! I appreciate!

    Anonymous was not me. It was Viktor K.
    (K for Kasselblad) from Ostrava!

    Cheers for all the comments!
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    20 March, 2008 at 17:23

  11. wote for worst striptiz portrait ever!

    miss persia

    20 March, 2008 at 21:37

  12. Hey Miss Persia…are you Polish? Wote is spelled with a V as in Vote or Vagina….but but but I raise my glass for a show of your balls! Good stuff.

    JC

    21 March, 2008 at 00:23

  13. Hmm, hmm… Najbolj bi se spotaknil cez tist fotic na pokrovu… Ker tam ga bo tezko dosegel v posmrtnem zivljenju. 🙂 Bi dal raj par kosov opreme okol lezat. CE bi mel JAZ ta kader bi mogoče tud mal bl od zgoraj slikal, da bi bil blizje obrazu kot nogam, pa mogoce kak smoke mashine bi se dodal, da bi bilo malce bolj Indiana Jones style… Drugace pa kapo dol za organizacijo in trud.

    Matjazz

    21 March, 2008 at 09:52

  14. Slučajno sem od zgoraj fotkal, pa se potem sfinge ni videlo. Fotič na pokrovu je bil fotografova želja, ker ga Nikon podpira in tako je bolje, kot na telesu. Sem probal. Na tleh ni placa. Relikvije so zavarovane celo pred izdihano vlago, zato si lahko predstavljaš kam bi ti Cankarjev dom predlagal inštalirati dimno napravo 🙂

    B5

    B5

    21 March, 2008 at 11:14


Leave a Reply

