TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

MAIN THING IS TO KEEP THE MAIN THING MAIN!

with 12 comments

Lately I’ve done quite a lot of corporate work for Trimo d.d. one of the most internationally successful Slovenian company. I’ve attended many of their lectures, that were intended for their sales person, their leading personnel and also their workers. I had a privilege to listen to world renown lecturers like Mr. Chris Kindermans, Mrs. Aleksandra Kornhauser Frazer and Mrs. Tatjana Fink, a general manager of Trimo. I listen their lectures really carefully, writing down notes, recognizing this is something that would work also in my personal career not only in multinational company like Trimo. The best part was that I got payed to be there 🙂

Anyhow the thought that was keep repeating throughout all the events was “MAIN THING IS TO KEEP THE MAIN THING MAIN!”. That’s so true and it was exactly what I needed to hear. Currently I’m working on so many project for so many clients, that I tried to write them down, but I realized it will kill this post, so I erased those 20 paragraphs.

I’m lacking time to manage everything. I asked myself what is main thing for me and of course professionally it’s a photography. And when I say photography I mean photographing not all the activities that comes along with it. I realized that per hour I’m the best payed as a photographer so I decided to hire some help. I hired two people. One to help me with organization of two big projects and other to help me out with the maintenance of the archive.

I calculated that one hour of me taking pictures it’s worth much more then if I would take care of my archive or do other work around photography, so logical conclusion is that if I would hire help, I could do more photography and I should earn more income.

MAIN THING IS TO KEEP THE MAIN THING MAIN!

Written by Borut Peterlin

24 March, 2008 at 15:50

Posted in personal thoughts

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are absolutely right. That is one of the main reasons why I pay for people to mow my lawn, trim bushes and trees around the house, paint rooms in the house etc… I would rather spend time with my family in my time off then doing landscaping.

    Iztok

    24 March, 2008 at 16:10

  2. Great conclusion, which everyone should more consider.

    p.s.: I see you added your blog to the ZSFB list… Cool!

    Marko

    24 March, 2008 at 16:12

  3. BTW: “The main thing is to keep the main thing the main thing.” by Stephen R. Covey.

    Iztok

    24 March, 2008 at 17:13

  4. “The main thing is to keep the main thing in Maine where there are mainly Mainers.”

    JC in Brooklyn.

    Keep focus and trim every thing down. Writing is a real skill and it takes talent to keep it consice rather than futile.

    I’m going to order sushi now because I can.

    JC

    24 March, 2008 at 17:29

  5. Pan Parek, consice is not in the dictionary. But I guess I know what you mean. Just I’m not certain if it’s meant as an ambiguous criticism to my writing or it’s a profound criticism against a war on terror in Tibet.

    Thx 4 all the comments. Tomorrow I have a quite important meeting. I’ll blog tomorrow.
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    24 March, 2008 at 20:07

  6. You need to use an English dictionary to find that word. Here’s a definition :

    concise

    Pronunciation:
    \kən-ˈsīs\
    Function:
    adjective
    Etymology:
    Latin concisus, from past participle of concidere to cut up, from com- + caedere to cut, strike
    Date:
    circa 1590

    : marked by brevity of expression or statement : free from all elaboration and superfluous detail
    — con·cise·ly adverb
    — con·cise·ness noun

    I wasn’t making a direct critique of your writing per se but rather aiming at the bigger picture of how we communicate. It is a skill and perhaps in the world of instant messaging and abbreviations ,we have lost the art of communication. We have simplified ourselves a bit too much I would say.

    Remember if we could translate what is in our minds out onto paper we would all be Mozarts…we can start by being CONSICE and not repeat ourselves.

    Good night and good luck.

    JC

    24 March, 2008 at 21:32

  7. Hey Borut…you’re right I went on all the other Slovene photoblogs and yours is really the best. I agree that your pictures are better than the other Slovene photographers by a long shot. The content on your blog is also more interesting to follow. I didn’t realise that there were so many bad Slovene photographers…I just didn’t want to believe you but again you are spot on! Maybe you should make a blog about that.

    xoxo

    jc

    JC

    24 March, 2008 at 21:39

  8. JC. You bastard! People don’t know your humor. But I guess they’ll have to learn it the hard way 🙂
    Don’t we all?

    Cheers for the dictionary tip. I was looking at Abkhazian dictionary. It happens also to the best of us!
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    24 March, 2008 at 22:51

  9. Iztok, by hiring some help I don’t mean I’ll have more free time, but it means that I’ll do more photography that I do best. I reckon I’m at the stage where saving money is not the best option. Investing in assistance is. I speculate that with assistance I could do more work and on the end of the day earn more then if I was saving.

    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    24 March, 2008 at 22:59

  10. Humor?

    JC

    25 March, 2008 at 02:05

  11. Borut, I completely understood your post. We just have different priority in life at this point. I could do the same but since I am already well over six figures, living in my own house etc… it is more important to spend more time with my family, especially with my new daughter then earn more money. For you hiring someone is because you will ultimately earn more money, for me, hiring someone is because I ultimately spend more time with my family. Same type of goal really.

    Iztok

    25 March, 2008 at 12:29

  12. Morš štekat, da štekaš, a štekaš?

    Ziga

    26 March, 2008 at 18:54


Leave a Reply

