TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Ten years to master something

with 11 comments

in 1993 B5 bought hi first medium format camera
B5 with his first middle format camera in 1993

My teacher for Tai Ji Quan told us it takes at least ten years of everyday practice to achieve something. I’m in my eight year. Nevertheless I do photography for more then that and although I still have so much to learn, I can live from photography. It takes time not only to learn all sorts of possible techniques but also to grow on them. By that I mean that you get all sorts of knowledge and stuff it in your subconsciousness, so when the occasion happen you pull up a solution that nobody expect, the least yourself. That sort of intuitive knowledge differs strongly from your rational knowledge also referred as theoretical, analytic knowledge. Intuitive thinking happens in our right brain hemisphere and rational, linear thinking is happening in our left brain hemisphere. The mastery is when the communication between rational and intuitive yourself is complementary. Of course under condition that guys from left and right side of hemisphere has something to talk about 🙂

Nevertheless to live from your mastery, the society must acknowledge it and that takes time. I reckon it takes ten years that large number of people recognize you as such and some of them will eventually will get across an idea that they could use some services from this person. So when photographer in the beginning of their career mourn how people don’t appreciate them, they are just being inpatient. I realize that when I read a book Dialogue with photography. In this book there are interviews with the most renown masters of photography and when they were talking about the problems in the beginning of their career and I thought they copy/pasted my story 🙂

B5

Relavent links:
Dialogue with photography

Jill Bolte Taylor on how mind works
The Technium: 1000 true fans

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ten years if you’re hyperactive like you are and how many if you’re not? 🙂 but I guess even with no arms and no legs there’s no worries… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yo_24_qTNac&feature=related

    artaud

    2 April, 2008 at 10:28

  2. There is a superb article on this very subject in Fortune magazine. They even call it the ten-year-rule.

    http://money.cnn.com/magazines/fortune/fortune_archive/2006/10/30/8391794/index.htm?postversion=2006101915

    ivan

    2 April, 2008 at 12:24

  3. I didn’t read your paragraphs because I was just stunned by that picture! WOW ! It doesn’t matter what you write under that. I want to see more pictures of bad haircuts and I will contribute myself to this wonderful blog.

    Let me take this minute to say hello to “6 figure” Iztok and my main man Igor.

    Also peace out to Sker and long live Straza.

    JC

    2 April, 2008 at 12:31

  4. JC. I knew you will love the picture. I think I was 19 or something. Did you saw two watches? It’s mother of all punctums as Beth would say! Isn’t?

    Ivan, thanks for the link. Actually I didn’t know that ten year rule really exist. I thought it’s logical and 10 years is just a good period of time.

    Artaud
    that’s fantastic!

    B5

    2 April, 2008 at 15:29

  5. vidim narobe, ali imašres na obeh rokah uro?

    Marko

    2 April, 2008 at 15:31

  6. Točnost je lepa čednost! Ne me vprašat zakaj. Se ne spomnim, a gotovo je bil nek subjektivni razlog.

    Borut Peterlin

    2 April, 2008 at 17:04

  7. Sem se kar malo zamislil… Teče namreč moje 14. leto. 🙂

    Dax

    4 April, 2008 at 00:13

  8. Odvisno kako šteješ. Če bi štel kdaj sem se začel s fotografijo ukvarjat (5. razred OŠ), bi rekel, da se ukvarjam že 22 let. Čeprav vsakdanje se ukvarjam od leta 1991, ko sem si kupil Practiko PLC3. A dejansko sem mislil na leto 1998, ko sem diplomiral in nisem več prejemal štipendije in sem se moral začet preživljati s fotografijo.
    B5

    Oh… In ingliš… Depends how you count. If I would start counting with my first encounter in elementary school, then that would be 22 years, daily I’m dealing with photography from 1991 when I bought first proper camera that’s Practica PLC3, but when I wrote that post I had in mind year 1998 when I graduated at FAMU and my scholarship ended, so I needed to earn money with photography.

    Borut Peterlin

    4 April, 2008 at 05:19

  9. I will look through my archives to see who had the best haircut whilst going through the process of being a photographer. There are some great ones I’m sure and it’s amazing to comprehend the mentality we once had, what we really believed to be good. Time has been relatively good to us.

    JC-patnact

    5 April, 2008 at 02:31

  10. Great ideas for a new post.
    HAIRCUTS THAT TIME FORGOT!
    Starring (in order of appearance:
    Borut Peterlin as B5
    Jeanchristophe Couet as himself

    Borut Peterlin

    5 April, 2008 at 08:19

  11. I will send you some pictures for you to post. I am dissapointed about that package sent to you on March 21st. That is almost 3 weeks now. Maybe it will still come.

    JC + B5 = PATNACT

    5 April, 2008 at 13:43


Leave a Reply

