TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New Striptiz portrait of Bojan Radovič a photographer

with 17 comments

bojan radovič_8371
This is my new portrait for Mladina’s Striptiz rubric.
Bojan Radovič is a contemporary photographer who have an exhibition in Gallery Fotografija. He’s latest project is Icons and he is photographing all sorts of icons of stars. You can download the catalogue of the exhibition from THIS LINK.

I wanted to photograph him in a context of stars and I had in mind Da Vinci‘s painting of man’s proportions, but was not sure how to make the picture, but when I arrived I started to check possible backgrounds. I didn’t want to do it on the floor, walls were OK, but then I saw the door of hay barn and I illuminated it with one flash from within. I draw a star with a torch during the long exposure and illuminate face with detached flash. It took me about 8 tries to make it right. Here is a plain shot of the scenery.

Written by Borut Peterlin

19 April, 2008 at 00:00

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tale je pa huda 😉

    Maja

    19 April, 2008 at 01:28

  2. Dobr!

    Ziga

    19 April, 2008 at 07:36

  3. tale mi je res ena boljših… ikona =)

    Marko

    19 April, 2008 at 16:55

  4. :-)) super je! za na steno!

    A5

    19 April, 2008 at 19:23

  5. bravo Borut. tale je res huda. mogoče bi v centralni postavitvi še bolj udarla?

    Ciril

    20 April, 2008 at 13:44

  6. It’s Inspiring Borut!

    Dušan

    20 April, 2008 at 17:32

  7. I agree Ciril, perhaps it would be even stronger if it would be more central, but in complete darkness it’s hard to frame. It is also true that two half of the door were not equal and there was quite a gap between them. I don’t mind it too much and I can’t crop it, so I’ll keep it as it is.

    thanks everybody!
    B5

    PS: We still wait comment from JC, Igor and Majah.

    Borut Peterlin

    20 April, 2008 at 17:50

  8. Hehehehe… Here I am…
    I tried to make it more central (just by covering a right part of photo on my screen by hand) and it is cleaner but not much interesting. But, the thing that is most interesting to me in this picture is his face in connotation with the star. It looks like a crucifixion. Like the backdrop you created with light.
    Igor

    Igor Motl

    20 April, 2008 at 20:11

  9. Very nice. I’m just wondering, how long of an exposure is it? I’m guessing around six seconds, which should be enough to get the background light and to make the star shape behind Bojan.

    jure

    21 April, 2008 at 19:12

  10. no. it was 32sec exactly! First I had to release a shutter on a cable release, then fire the background flash, then draw a star and on the end I illuminated his face with normal flash that I detached it from camera, set it on manual, 1/8 of power and illuminated one meter from above left his face.

    try doing it faster and I’ll buy you a beer

    🙂

    B5

    21 April, 2008 at 19:44

  11. If I just take a better picture will you buy me a beer and a burek?

    jc

    22 April, 2008 at 01:08

  12. P.S. Dusan’s comment has inspired me to be inspired and therefore inspire.

    jc

    22 April, 2008 at 01:09

  13. I would take 600 or more sec exposure and go on a beer and burek between shooting =)

    but picture will still hard be better than this 😉

    yeah 😀

    Marko

    22 April, 2008 at 12:47

  14. Very nice picture!!

    I would like to ask you, how and where you enlarged your Portrait photos for Emzin? How did you acchieve such glossyness?

    Thank’s in advance for your answer.

    Matej

    Matej

    22 April, 2008 at 13:36

  15. Superb.

    Samo

    22 April, 2008 at 23:05

  16. Matej, it’s not a simple answer, so I’ll devote a post to it. Ema Nose prepared my files for the exhibition and I’ll invite her to come to Fotopub and have a lecture on that.
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    24 April, 2008 at 22:53

  17. Thanks for the answer. Hope the post will be up soon.

    Cheers,
    Matej

    Matej

    9 May, 2008 at 10:47


Leave a Reply

