TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New cover of Mladina 17-18 / 2008

with 5 comments

Borut Pahor na Mladina 17-18_08.indd
For this issue of Mladina I did a coverpage. Or better my picture was chosen for a cover. I did the picture on a gathering of Social demokrat party in Novo mesto. The cover appears to be a photo montage, but it’s not! Well, it is polished well, but the shot was as it is. Here is the full frame of the picture.
BORUT PAHOR foto borut peterlin
I’m shooting in raw format on fixed lenses, so I can afford to make quite nasty crops. I prefer that then zooms.
Predvolilni zbor SD socialdemokratov v Novem mestu
Here is another one from the occasion, where Sašo Hribar is telling jokes on Borut Pahor.
For this issue of Mladina I did also pictures of first president Milan Kučan. I did literally two shots from this perspective and three more from different position and few more during the interview.
Milan Kučan, former president of SloveniaMilan Kučan, former president of Slovenia
I love taking pictures of political events and even more I love seeing them printed. Each picture printed in Mladina is seen by more then 100.000 people + it’s archived in libraries forever. Sure pictures do appear to be trivial (sometimes), but it’s great to see your small contribution in a product of a collective. Small, but crucial! I just love the game!

Written by Borut Peterlin

25 April, 2008 at 16:57

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes, you shoot in raw, but you also shoot with FF camera so…
    It is interesting, I’m using only fixed lenses and I tried zoom lenses for a few times and just couldn’t get used to it. I believe it is a habbit from analogue era when all kit lenses on 35mm cameras were 50mm primes (mostly).
    Nice light on Milan Kučan no.1, nice and natural.
    Igor

    P.S. I can not see few images. There are only boxes with word Image in it, but no pictures. I see only two images of Milan Kučan but between those two images is one image box.

    Igor Motl

    25 April, 2008 at 17:36

  2. Sorry for that Igor. I messed up with HTML code, but there should be only two images of Milan Kučan.

    Thx. The light on Milan Kučan makes the image working. The office although it was higher class, it’s even more horrible then an ordinary office. Can you believe that I’m receiving stupid comments that I shouldn’t work with those lights because they are intimidating for a person being interviewed. I kindly replied that this is the way I work and there are plenty of photographers who shoot full head pictures on zoom lenses at 2,8 aperture, ISO 800, so they can hire somebody else. I’ll stop there, because I’m reeeeally pissed off.

    Yes full frame sensor cameras are a light year better then those 1,6 or even 1,3 factor cameras.

    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    25 April, 2008 at 18:53

  3. Yes, I noticed that you are heavy traveler. What kind of light you are using? I remember from earlyer posts that you explained your technik with a flash head and one off camera ordinary flash. Is it same here? I can see a back light (back and left from him) behind Milan Kučan and I assume that is off camera flash and his face is lightened with nice soft light so I believe that is a flash head with softbox, and there is a reflection of softbox in his second picture. What kind of power supply you use? Some travel pack or ordinary electric power onlocation?
    As I said, you are heavy traveler.
    Igor

    Igor Motl

    25 April, 2008 at 19:34

  4. I’m using all sorts of light. From studio flashes, torches, dedicated camera flashes, to light from mobile phone.

    Basically you’re right. I used two studio flashes one with softbox and the other with a grid to direct light. If I can I use normal power supply, but I have also a flashfeeder, that I use very often.

    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    25 April, 2008 at 23:46

  5. I wonder if it would be nice to take some portraits, when given the opportunity, that also reflect your authorship. It must be an amazing opportunity to be in the room with such men.

    jc

    26 April, 2008 at 02:08


Leave a Reply

