TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

On creative thinking

with 3 comments

This is great lecture on creative thinking! Especially the part where it differs between being different (all those photographers who use old – special effect cameras are just diferent not creative!) and being creative and a part where he talks about a mistake that is not a mistake in a negative sense. I love it!

People considers me as a creative person – many times too creative. My fuel for creativity is a constant battle between two principles. First principle is that I’m not afraid to make a mistake and that principle without hesitation pushes me into very difficult situations, where I have a bold idea for the picture, but no budget, short deadline and no understanding of many people why do I have to complicate so much. Second principle is that I hate making mistakes and I try every single option until I give up.

So one side of me is keep getting in the trouble and second side is getting me out of it, saving what can be saved. And that is a real battle, where a real people, real situations and real deadlines are involved. Luckily I love the fight or creative process and usually I find a way to win! If not I say to myself I did all in my power, but circumstances were just overwhelming, so my consciousness is clear.

Let me repeat that tomorrow is an important lecture on creative photography at Magdalena Festival in Maribor, Slovenia by Siri Vorbeck and Cassandra Knipper, art directors of creative commercial photography at Corbis agency.

PS: I’m counting on some creative comments. And let me answer beforehand to JC. YES, farting is allowed on this blog, as it encourage lateral thinking.
Written by Borut Peterlin

15 May, 2008 at 22:33

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ok ok…I’ll give a dumb critique in a bit but before let me share with you all my honorary mention at PX3:

    http://px3.fr/winners/px3/Honorable_Mention.php

    If you scroll down you’ll find my name in the professional categorie and the project was UNICEF IN UNMIK.

    As Banksby said ” I can’t believe someone likes this shit”.

    Enjoy and fuck off!

    jc

    16 May, 2008 at 03:49

  2. I would love to go to Magdalena, but I have a photo session today….ah… :/

    Ciril

    16 May, 2008 at 09:12

  3. Ciril, that was a perfect lecture for you. I guess for next opportunity like that you’ll have to pay a lot of money abroad. On Fotopub we’ll have great editors from La Espresso and Panos, but ZEFA collection of stock photography that Corbis is selling is really your kind of work, I think.

    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    19 May, 2008 at 20:12


Leave a Reply

