TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Don’t joggle between Mac & PC!

with 5 comments

Santa sold me a Macbook, but although it’s great I think I’ve made a mistake. I have a decent desktop PC on which I’ve build up an archive of about 200.000 images. I thought I’ll manage to joggle between Windows and Leopard. OK. Theoretically it works, but practically it drives me crazy!!! I’ll not go into details and parallels is not a permanent solution. Bottom line is if you’re on PC or Mac, stay there. It’s not worth the effort!!!

Written by Borut Peterlin

27 May, 2008 at 22:26

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. or you can write to Santa to bring you new Apple desktop computer

    Marko

    28 May, 2008 at 06:18

  2. … and I’ll ask his deers to scan all my DVDs and CDs.

    Borut Peterlin

    28 May, 2008 at 06:31

  3. Or you can install Windows on your MacBook 😉

    It seems that the best machine for windows are Mac machines 🙂 (Test shows that Windows Vista is runing on Mac much better than on regular machines 😉 🙂 )

    Best regards,

    Peter

    Peter Peterlin

    28 May, 2008 at 07:07

  4. I don’t know what kind of archive you have. But if you have it on external drives aswell, you can simply import them into Aperture (without copying them to the MacBook) and there you go, your whole archive on your MacBook (previews only not the full-res images). If you need that full-res image, just connect the external drive and there it is.
    Otherwise; windows sharing does the trick for me – back in SG we have 3 PCs and 2 Macs, works as it should.

    Peter

    28 May, 2008 at 08:55

  5. I’m using lightroom, canto cumulus, fotostation, Iview, etc and each of them has a problem when it has to handle more then 100.000 images. Fotostation with indexmanager works perfectly but it costs about 800 EUR!

    I’ll try aperature. I hope it’ll handle more then 100.000 images.

    Peter K. what is windows sharing? Parallels? Or starting a computer as Windows? I hate that. I hate loosing energy for things that should be avoided.

    I’ll probably completely switch to Mac or PC as 5er5 sugested.

    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    28 May, 2008 at 10:14


Leave a Reply

