TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Portrait of Žarko Petan

with 2 comments

Zarko PetanZarko PetanZarko PetanZarko PetanŽarko Petan is a renown Slovenian theater director and a writer. I did some portraits of him. I didn’t use my almost embedded studio lights, but instead I used available light. I like it in black in white. My photoshop technique of converting digital RGB into BW is:
1) Image / adjustmens / channel mixer / click monochrome / about Red 0%, Green 80%, Blue 30%
2) Filter / sharpen / Unsharp mask / amount 30 %, radius 45 pixel
3) Filter / sharpen / Unsharp mask / amount 90 %, radius 0,9 pixel

Of course amounts set depends on each picture

Written by Borut Peterlin

31 May, 2008 at 23:40

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great portraits!

    undiscoveredcountries

    1 June, 2008 at 19:15

  2. Great BW conversion. Totally different feelings between color and BW even they are same pictures. I use LAB mode for conversion while preserving highlights and I made an action of it so I’m doing it automatically. But channel mixer is great tool. I like the ability of BW conversion to making interesting and dramatic photos out of promising but color dull pictures. As you can see on Žarkos pictures, light on BW photos is much more “story telling” then on the color one. I like it.
    Igor

    Igor Motl

    1 June, 2008 at 19:19


Leave a comment