TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

I took my dog for euthanasia

with 18 comments

9.1.25.1.5
7.1.44.1.357.1.43.1.16
Today I took my dog to euthanasia. he had a huge cancerous tumor and although I wanted to operate him months ago, vet didn’t recommended that because he was already 13 years old. I release his pain with some drugs that were actually some kind of steroids. Nowdays weather is really hot and I decided he has enough suffering and took him for a walk and then to the vet for euthanasia. I wanted that vet gave him a first sleeping injection outside on the parking lot. Soon he started to be dizzy and he fell a sleep. I carry him inside to the table and we were waiting for a vet to finish the job. While crying and petting him I saw a flea in his fur. I crushed it. Vet came in and I left the room thinking on my beloved Sker and that flea.

20080602_649220080602_650820080602_652620080602_653120080602_653220080602_6536

Written by Borut Peterlin

2 June, 2008 at 23:57

Posted in Uncategorized

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Borut, my condolenses to you. I grew up also with Sker and followed his life with great passion. I loved greeting him and playing with him. I will miss him a lot as I am sure you will as well. You gave him a great life and he was one of the happiest dogs I have ever encountered. I will look in my archive and see which pictures I have of him. In honour I will light a candle for the only dog who answered to ” who is the man”.

    Goodbye Sker I will miss you.

    jc

    3 June, 2008 at 00:10

  2. Borut, my condolences! When my dad had to put Rott to sleep I was lucky I wasn’t around. It was still painful for me so I can only imagine your pain is multiple what I’ve felt.

    Iztok

    3 June, 2008 at 02:48

  3. Yes, that was the best trick. When I asked him who’s the man, he loudly howl.
    thanks guys,
    B5

    B5

    3 June, 2008 at 06:14

  4. Srečno, Skerči!

    Res sem mislila, da boš zdržal do naše hiške in svoj zadnji čas preživel z nami.

    Žal mi je, super kuža si bil!

    “…in kaj pomaga dež,
    vse je odločeno že prej,
    kaj bi dal, da bi verjel,
    da se nekdo samo igra…”

    Avtomobili

    poljub in objem

    A5

    3 June, 2008 at 09:45

  5. Tudi moje sozalje, vem da je to tezko!

    mihaaa

    3 June, 2008 at 10:42

  6. Sker, pogrešali te bomo 😦

    Maja

    3 June, 2008 at 11:59

  7. I’m sorry you have to do that. My Buvara had three puppies and one of them had been attacked by big german shepherd and he injured her back. I had to do same thing you did. It was something hardest I did in my life. So, I know how you feel. My condolences to you.
    Igor

    Igor Motl

    3 June, 2008 at 12:13

  8. Kako hitro tečejo leta…

    Se še živo spominjam poti v Kranj, ko smo ga šli iskat. Tisto malo črno/belo kepico z modrim in rjavim učkom. In kako je skakal po zadnjih in sprednjih sedežih med vožnjo domov… Prava zverinica je bil 😉

    SKER Pogrešal bom tvoj svobodni duh in samosvoj karakter!!!

    Kakor bi rekel pokojni NONO:

    SULTAN živel boš v naših srcih za vedno!!!

    Peter

    Peter Peterlin

    3 June, 2008 at 12:49

  9. 😦 Sožalje.
    Naša kužka je bila pri 13 letih v podobni situaciji glede operacije. Ampak se žal ni zbudila iz narkoze. Najlepših 13 let mojega življenja… Ni lahko. Sploh ni. Drži se.

    Dax

    3 June, 2008 at 15:08

  10. me je spomnil ta post na mojega nemskega ovcarja… I know how you must feel… sorry

    Bili

    3 June, 2008 at 16:45

  11. Borut, tut moje sožalje…

    uros

    3 June, 2008 at 20:44

  12. Doma smo imeli psarno dalmatincev. Psi so prihajali, psi so odhajali. Prvih 5x sem jokal, potem sem postal imun. Majhen sem bil Ko mi je umrla nona, sem bil kao še vedno imun. Kao. Potem smo evtanazirali psa od punce, ki je navadno spal z nama v postelji. Imunost je vneto zbledela. Potem mi je umrla mama in sem potreboval 2 leti da sem se normaliziral. Da je bilo še bolj pestro se mi je pred tem dogodkom rodil sin. Imunost – ni je bilo in ne vem, če se še kdaj vrne. Čeprav bi bilo laže, če bi se. Vseeno je, naj bo človek ali žival. Vsi smo enaki! Pravijo, da brez dobe želovanja ne gre, pa čeprav si še tako močan. Traja pa od 0,5 do 2 leti. Odvisno kako ti podzavest porihta vse skupaj. Ampak, trpežna bitja smo. Kaj vse prenesemo.
    In kaj je res fajn, da če že živimo, da živimo do smrti.
    Iskreno sožalje!

    Samo Rovan

    3 June, 2008 at 23:16

  13. Ciao Borut…
    tudi jaz sem že doživela enako zgodbo. Bilo je težko, pretežko…samo se mi zdi, da smo jim dolžni, da jim še na zadnji poti stojimo ob strani, tako kot so nam oni – celo življenje. Črt ima že osem let in ko bo prišel njegov trenutek….bom spet z njim…

    Res je bil poseben kuža, in lepo življenje je imel. Pa še znan fotograf se je uril in rasel ob njim.

    Maša

    6 June, 2008 at 19:02

  14. Iskreno sožalje.

    Če ti pomaga lahko kakorkoli, te povabim na sprehod z mojim dvema (LeeLoo & Ayya), čeprav se ne poznava.

    A.

    alesh

    11 June, 2008 at 13:49

  15. hvala.
    B5

    B5

    11 June, 2008 at 17:51

  16. Te fotografije in tekst, so me zares potrle. Ob njih se zavedam, kako je življenje minljivo. Upam, da vam je že kaj lažje.

    lp

    x

    24 June, 2008 at 00:48

  17. I’ve just received a call from my vet. Dog had surgery last week to remove few bumps on his skin and they’ve sent them to test them and they came back positive for cancer. We need to get an x-ray done to see if there is any internal cancer as well and then decide what to do. Considering he is old (don’t know how old as we got him when he was at least 5-7 years old from shelter) I don’t like the idea of chemo and suffering.

    Iztok

    15 July, 2008 at 17:41

  18. […] November, 2008 Six months after I took my dog Sker for euthanasia my wife took her dog Fabi for treatment too and after vetenarian did ultrasound of internal organs, […]


Leave a Reply

