TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Slavoj Žižek, a philosopher portraited by Borut Peterlin

with 7 comments

Slavoj Zizek, a philosopherSlavoj Zizek, a philosopherSlavoj Zizek, a philosopherSlavoj Zizek, a philosopherSlavoj Zizek, a philosopherSlavoj Zizek, a philosopher

I had an honor to portrait Slavoj Žižek, probably the most famous and important Slovenian alive. His lectures are like rock concerts where students come and listen in thousands. He is notorious Marxist and he’s also recognized as a hero in Russia.
sdnemrogdenia

Anyhow I decided to do this portrait in a studio, to have enough peace and control over the shoot. Although I didn’t publish any studio picture on this blog, I used to work with Toscani in his studio and at FAMU academy thought us also about studio. Anyway it’s easier to work in a good studio then outside. I hired a studio from Aljoša Rebolj, Studio Bomba and it’s fantastically equipped with all sorts of lights, dressing room, two studios white and black, it has even WLAN network! Aljoša is super kind, and it was a true pleasure to meet him. If you want to hire the studio send him an email to aljosarebolj(a)hotmail.com Last but not least I had also good assistants so we finished the shoot in 30 min as we planned from the start. Thank you so much Aljoša, Manca and Klemen. Here are some portraits of us: Aljoša Rebolj, Manca Jevšček, Klemen Ilovar, B5
20080602_649020080602_637120080602_635320080602_6477

Backstage photos by Manca Jevšček.
_MG_8703_MG_8702_MG_8691_MG_8704

BIG THANKS ALSO TO STOJAN PELKO WITHOUT WHOM I WOULDN’T GET THIS OPPORTUNITY!!!

Zemanta Pixie
Written by Borut Peterlin

4 June, 2008 at 00:19

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. you must be proud;)

    first one is gr8!

    Marko

    4 June, 2008 at 11:21

  2. I like the portraits quite a bit…the ones like almost look like drawings. I love your pose and I feel that I taught you that pose : to lick your fingers and then to comb your eyebrows back. You did it like a natural.

    And my favourite of the bunch is the Russian montage. You just can’t beat that one.

    Thank you everyone for reading this comment, thank you Iztok for taking time away from your 6 figure salary, Igor my main leopard Bosnian…thank you all and praise Allah…or not…I don’t really give a phuck.

    jc

    4 June, 2008 at 14:22

  3. Ciao JC!
    Thank you for thankyouing in my name. You understand me and my five figures salary.

    Yes this effect of drawing I discovered around midnight by coincidence. I’ll blog about it. It’s great.

    Yes, this eyebrow move you taught me when we were still no figure salary and looked us now!

    B5

    B5

    4 June, 2008 at 15:33

  4. Hehe, sam se vidi, da so ti všeč grški filozofi. 😉

    ivan

    4 June, 2008 at 23:40

  5. thx guys. I’m definetly proud on this portraits, although in Mladina, they published no. 2 and 6. I couldn’t believe they don’t like my studio work.

    And they were asking what do I want to say with the first picture and I didn’t had a clear answer. Ivan you’re right. It does work sort of pitagorish isn’t.

    On the other hand the first picture wasn’t yet published so it has higher price and I have no doubts I’ll published it, so everybody’s happy.

    I wish you happy new day,
    B5

    PS: Yesterday this post received 850 visits. Still Strojan affair wins with 1138 visits/day two years ago.

    Borut Peterlin

    5 June, 2008 at 06:31

  6. sej tud filozofi velikokrat ne vejo, kaj hočejo povedat 🙂 pač žvijo v eni taki svoji “sobi” na prvi sliki, sploh pa belo ozadje veliko pove 😉
    vrhunski portreti.

    arto

    6 June, 2008 at 09:44

  7. […] book covers I’ve done last month. OK, the philosopher Slavoj Žižek I photographed in 2008 (the blog post), but Danish publisher Samfunds Letteratur recently bought my portrait of Slavoj for the cover of […]


Leave a Reply

