TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Time to focus and turn down jobs

with 4 comments

snaker stylish light 20080608_6804
For last three weeks I was working for Vertigo Bird. They are really great company that are producing top of the line lights for interior design. We were talking that i would be their long term photographer, photographing their light in the nature. I tried hard finding additional time in my schedule to shoot some tests shots, working at night, on Sunday,… More I was working less satisfied was the client. With the last image published above I was really satisfied and I was sure that it’s fitting the brief perfectly, but again the same story and I received a completely new brief involving also people in the pictures. I realized that this is something that’s not for me. Doesn’t matter who’s fault it is for bad communication, I decided to turn down the job.

It’s hard because I take it as a failure, but I’m very successful on different fields of photography, so why not stick to it. From Italian publishing house Garda Cartiere I received really big compliment on my work in Bosnia.

Trimo d.d. 20080609_7035_borut peterlinTwo days ago I was shooting an Annual report for Trimo d.d. under surveillances of Igor Arih. We prepared very well for the shoot with a detailed plan, but the plan was flushed away by a rain. We all got nervous, but I came out with a new location and different way of shooting and it worked very well. CEO Tatjana Fink was very satisfied with pictures and so was people from Arih agency. They told me that it’s noticed that I’m photojournalist by soul, because I’m adaptable.

Last but not least after years of meetings and tons of emails it looks that I made a serious step forward in cooperating with Getty Images. A lot of work before me.

That’s why I decided to turn down lights job and devote my intention where my heart is, that is people, people, people and some portraiture of people.

PS: Corporate picture is composed with a page gap in mind. It’ll be a double spread and a page gap will go where there are no people.

Written by Borut Peterlin

11 June, 2008 at 22:20

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your decision to turn down the Vertigo Bird project must have been hard, but I think it was the right one. You are an excellent portrait photographer and that picture with the light above shows it – that looks like it should be a portrait, not something for some light catalogue (only thing missing is a person).

    And congradulations on the deal with Getty Images. Hard work, yes, but equally rewarding.

    JureF

    13 June, 2008 at 01:37

  2. Interview Request

    Hello Dear and Respected,
    I hope you are fine and carrying on the great work you have been doing for the Internet surfers. I am Ghazala Khan from The Pakistani Spectator (TPS), We at TPS throw a candid look on everything happening in and for Pakistan in the world. We are trying to contribute our humble share in the webosphere. Our aim is to foster peace, progress and harmony with passion.

    We at TPS are carrying out a new series of interviews with the notable passionate bloggers, writers, and webmasters. In that regard, we would like to interview you, if you don’t mind. Please send us your approval for your interview at my email address “ghazala.khi at gmail.com”, so that I could send you the Interview questions. We would be extremely grateful.

    regards.

    Ghazala Khan
    The Pakistani Spectator
    http://www.pakspectator.com

    Ghazala Khan

    5 July, 2008 at 21:00

  3. Your decision to turn down the Vertigo Bird project must have been hard, but I think it was the right one. You are an excellent portrait photographer and that picture with the light above shows it – that looks like it should be a portrait, not something for some light catalogue (only thing missing is a person).

    book publishers

    24 May, 2010 at 07:04

  4. Congratulations on the deal with Getty Images. Hard work, yes, but equally rewarding.

    book publishers

    24 May, 2010 at 07:16


Leave a Reply

