TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Zmago Jeraj, portrait for Striptiz rubric

with 3 comments

Zmago Jeraj, creative portrait by Borut Peterlin
Zmago Jeraj is really great painter, based in Maribor. I liked his work what I saw on the internet and from invitation to his exhibition. When I visited his exhibition in Umetnostna galerija Maribor and I was persuaded in his mastery. I was thinking long time about the idea for the picture and I came up with this silhouette concept as a metaphor of every picture is artists self portrait. After the portrait we chat for an hour about art. I did the picture already last Monday. This Saturday after Blogres I visited few galleries and I stopped also at Mestna Galeria Ljubljana, where they have really great show From Mercator collection. There are really a lot of paintings, but one winter evening scene caught my attention. It reminded me the feeling I was photographing in my 5am project. I checked who’s the author and guess who it was… Zmago Jeraj.

Written by Borut Peterlin

23 June, 2008 at 16:58

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice one. At first glimpse it reminded me on Picasso portrait in his studio.

    Igor Motl

    23 June, 2008 at 20:11

  2. Razstava v UGM je res zanimiva, sploh ta transformacija večih različnih del, od “otroških risb”, do polno kontrastnih in togih ploskovitih del s črnino. Na srečo sem imel možnost slišat kritiko in vodenje razstave njegove dobre prijateljice. Verjetno mi je bila najbolj všeč slika mesta Maribor, z žerjavom, ponoči. Pa tebi? 🙂

    simonkoležnik

    26 June, 2008 at 15:37

  3. Ja, tudi tista mi je bila zelo všeč. Enako energijo ima tudi tista v Ljubljani.

    Vodenje po razstavi res doda veliko nevidnih detajlov in paralelnih zgodb.
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    26 June, 2008 at 15:47


Leave a Reply

