TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Zvezdana Mlakar and Jure Henigman in a theater show Vincent River

with 6 comments

Zvezdana Mlakar in Jure Henigman foto borutpeterlin.com 20081007_9626
For Mladina‘s creative portrait rubric Striptiz I did a portrait of famous Zvezdana Mlakar and Jure Henigman. They have a theater show Vincent River in theater Glej.

For this portrait I had an unrest. I’m in the not the most creative period of my life. I failed to prepare for a Frankfurt book fair that will happen next week and that is a big blow for me. I’m not making any excuses. Anyhow I didn’t had a good idea how to photograph them, but two hours before the shoot I visited flower shop and Glej theater. I like flower shop, but it was too much of everything. I wanted clean scenography. Something simple, so all attention will be on actors. I decided to do it in Glej theater. I saw a shadow on the floor that was casting by one pillar. I liked that dark shadow on dark wall and I was inspired by that. I thought I could build up something with black on black. Oh… I didn’t mention that Vincent river is really heavy psychological drama between two actors, full of love, hate and FEAR. So I liked the black on black visual element. 20 min before the shoot I was preparing for the shoot and on the end I even simplified the idea and did a picture as you see it. I used 200 mm lens and three flashes. One on the wall, one discretely on Jure’s face and one with softbox on Zvezdana Mlakar. It’s is great to photograph actors. I usually just prepare the surrounding and actors will make a picture with their expressions.

Written by Borut Peterlin

7 October, 2008 at 22:39

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. superb!!

    Manca

    8 October, 2008 at 09:13

  2. Wow, I love this one, really great work. Many times simple really is beautiful.

    jure

    8 October, 2008 at 11:25

  3. (Ko sem včeraj med Kemijo bral maladino, sem ugotovil, da jo berem samo zaradi tega, ker so noti dobre fotke in večina fotk je tvojih.)

    Mju

    10 October, 2008 at 10:08

  4. Opa Mju, to pa je kompliment. Samo, da ne bom bil za kako grajo odgovoren 🙂 Čeprav sem danes vzel Mladino v roke in z depro opazil, da so moje fotke redke. Ampak, važen, da so v Mladini dobre fotke. thx,
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    10 October, 2008 at 11:58

  5. […] Zvezdana Mlakar and Jure Henigman in a theater show Vincent River […]

  6. […] magazine I was commisioned to do a portrait of an actor, Jure Henigman. I’ve already made a portrait of him in 2008 with Zvezdana Mlakar, but I was planning to do something completely different. First of all we’ve met at the […]


Leave a Reply

