TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Making crates for an exhibition

with 2 comments

DSCF1189DSCF1185DSCF1186DSCF1188DSCF1191
A week ago I made two crates to transport my exhibition to BiH. Maybe I didn’t mention in my CV, that I did carpentry secondary school before I went to study photography? Well, I decided to do crates for my exhibition, because my pictures are glued to aluminum and without a frame. I was surprised how easy it is to make a crate, but I must ad that my father helped me with his gadgets and his organization know how. I did a mistake with making of a lid of a crate, but nevertheless it does seal and protect as it should.

Concerning the making of the crates, I bought panels at Hoby trgovina and they cut panel on the exact measures and I bought sticks for frame (kotne letve) in Merkur. Material for both cases dimensions 80 x 56 x 60 cm was 70 EUR. Avoid nails and use screws + do glue the sides together. Glue will hold the crate together, not screws. I suggest to make a groove (utor) for a screw, so the cap of the screw will not stick out and scratch everything that it touches. I remember how many pictures I ruined during transport because of bad protection.

Written by Borut Peterlin

19 October, 2008 at 21:56

Posted in Photography

Tagged with , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Don’t worry, she is safe on my parents attic. She is waiting for you 🙂
    Igor

    Igor Motl

    20 October, 2008 at 22:57

  2. Similar to corrugated fiberboard in overall characteristics, plastic corrugated is typically extruded from polypropylene. Advantages include excellent moisture resistance and increased durability. Also can be use with Foam, corrugated and wood

    Dallas Shipping Crates

    31 March, 2011 at 22:33


Leave a Reply

