TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Making business with USA is a doggy thing

with 7 comments


Here is a printscreen on my last pictures on DRR.net. Others are erased. Digitalrailroad is dying.

I just lost $590 USD because of liquidation of DRR and I also didn’t receive a check of about $700 USD for a job that I’ve done for a magazine from Texas.
I’m reluctant to do any business with clients from USA, because it’s far worse then here on Balkans!

I’m standing before a decision should I buy a new on-line archive or should I invest that money in a good site like aphotofolio.com? Only bad thing about aphotofolio is that they are USA based and that makes my hair stand up!

Do you know any good internet site provider from EU? I mean a professionally designed website with hosting for photographers in the budget range between 500 and 800 EUR?

I’ll check again what Robert Benson has to say about it.

I go with the tip from Leslie Burns Dell’acqua that when times get hard spend more on marketing!

PS: Update 31.10.2008
My DRR.net/borutpeterlin account is still running, although it’s so slow it’s practically useless.
Only good thing is that sites that offer hosting for Hi-Res images are fighting for us, former DRR members, offering discounts. We’ll see what I will decide. For now, I’m lingering towards a decision to buy really posh portfolio site from aphotofolio.com and use http://www.me.com/gallery for distribution of images. I am trying out other services like photoshelter, smugmug, http://www.sitewelder.com/, newscom.com and others. I’ll let you know in a week time or so.

Written by Borut Peterlin

29 October, 2008 at 10:52

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Imaš še PhotoShelter, ki tudi nekaj kašlja, da jim gre slabo, vabijo pa na prvi strani takole:

    Digital Railroad customers: View our migration tools and special offer. Hurry, offer expires November 4, 2008.

    http://pa.photoshelter.com/

    PeterG

    29 October, 2008 at 13:55

  2. Hvala Pero. Sem jih že čekiral in oni niso tako zadolženi, kot DRR, a sprejemajo zgolj letno naročnino, kar pomeni verjeti jim, da ne bodo pojutrišnjem tudi oni štacuno zaprli.
    Sicer je ponudba dobra.
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    29 October, 2008 at 14:43

  3. Chase Jarvis has a similar post as yours, so maybe you could ask him for advice or for his experience with others agencies.
    Link:
    http://blog.chasejarvis.com/blog/2008/10/digital-railroad-drrnet-bites-dust.html
    Igor

    Igor Motl

    29 October, 2008 at 17:36

  4. Try sitewelder and do a search on other template photo sites…i use foliosnap and never had a problem with them. also…this thing about people not paying is not just in the US but also in EU. Colors magazine for example took 6 months to pay and you had to nag them day in and day out. Sharks are everywhere my good man. problem is business done through the wire because you don’t know them. here’s my advice my friendly cefur. and never forget the 4th of november.

    obama

    30 October, 2008 at 02:41

  5. My main Osama, we need to talk about your experience with foliosnap! It does look good.
    What aboutyour Nikon / Fotopub award. Did you collected?
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    30 October, 2008 at 06:53

  6. […] Peterlin: Making business with USA is a doggy thing Američani kradejo Sloveniji. Ne bi bilo […]

    Priporočam… | The L Files

    30 October, 2008 at 13:37

  7. […] was blogging about choosing a right website provider HERE andHERE, and HERE. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Argo/Springville: New […]


Leave a Reply

