TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Choosing a new site

with 13 comments

AAAAAAAAAA!!!
I’m going crazy with this DRR.net liquidation process and now I’m working on finding a new site.

I was working with a web developer on my site for more then six months and although I bought some flash components Slideshowpro the progress was so slow, that I just canceled the whole thing! The potential of this site was great, but the dependence on a web designer, was driving me crazy!!! THE RESULT is promising if you imagine the colors and navigation would be better and background colors would fit. Slideshow runs only on Chernobil’s sun project.

Newscom.com offered former DRR members hosting to their server, but they are far to expensive. They are not serious with a price of 2500 USD/ year + 400 USD set up fee + many other questions remain open, but I didn’t bother to ask.

I realized that I don’t need a photoshelter to have a hi-res images on my site and distribute them among my clients! I decided I look for a portfolio site first, but then I discovered that almost all site bellow are offering 2 – 5 GB of storage that you can use to distribute your images to clients!

I checked again the post of Robert Benson and throughly checked all the sites he is mentioning.

I like SiteWelder and I test it and HERE result and it’s good. Very nice, clean, super user friendly, but without full screen images.

clickbooq is really good, but limited to 5 portfolios with max. of 36 images. You can buy more portfolios 50$ each. That sucks because I want to have many, many projects on my site and not just five portfolio cases. Nevertheless in their premium package they offer a 5GB of storage and infinite private lightboxes that you use to distribute our images. I love Clickbook, because you can customize a design of your site without nasty HTML code. I asked them to give me a five days trial.

Icecreations have huge pictures! I really like that, although I agree with Robert Benson, that navigation is a bit occurred. I asked them for a trial period and then we’ll see.

My favorite choice is AphotoFolio, since I’m a great fan of Rob Haggart’s blog aphotoeditor.com. But it’s also the most expensive of all site above, that’s 1000 USD/year + 17USD/month of hosting. In few weeks they will also have sort of hi-res on-line archiving service, if I understood correctly.

Written by Borut Peterlin

1 November, 2008 at 15:34

Posted in Photography

Tagged with , , , , ,

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Maybe, you should check out Squarespace and some examples (brilliant shadow) that are made with their platform. It is not expensive and they offer full service on monthly basis. They are mostly blog-like platform but Brilliant Shadow looks nice.

    Good luck!

    Igor

    Igor Motl

    1 November, 2008 at 16:11

  2. What about some cheap hosting, like Hostgator, with implementation of easy-to-use flash powered gallery like dfGallery? That could work for a personal portfolio. And I am thinking of combining this dfgallery with pixelpost gallery system, I guess you should check it out. Best luck to you!

    Klemen

    1 November, 2008 at 17:35

  3. Thx, Igor and Klemen,
    great tips, although I’m aiming on corporate, advertising and editorial creative guys and convince them that my work is worth something and not that I’m good in saving money. As Leslie Burns dell-Aqua if you don’t think your work is special and worth of decent treatment, then who will?

    I dream about full screen pictures, with some music in the back, delivering vividly the story I made with my camera.
    Roll and Rock,
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    1 November, 2008 at 21:37

  4. Try SellFolio… Unlimited portfolios and images, starts under $80.00. http://www.sellfolio.com

    Russ

    2 November, 2008 at 15:02

  5. Any luck with bank refunding your DRR payment?

    Iztok

    2 November, 2008 at 16:03

  6. @ Iztok
    Not really because company where I’m employed payed with traditional bank transfer. Unfortunately.
    But thanks for the advice! I didn’t know you have that right.

    Borut Peterlin

    2 November, 2008 at 17:34

  7. Well for the future. Never do the traditional bank transfers. Always use credit card. It protects you from such issues.

    Good luck!

    Iztok

    2 November, 2008 at 18:16

  8. @ IZtok,
    I was convinced that bank transfer is safer. Well, good tip!
    thx,
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    2 November, 2008 at 20:48

  9. Borut,

    You can easily create slideshows with PhotoShelter and the website customization tool. The standard account is much cheaper than all the options you mentioned, and while you might not need high-resolution file transfer, why wouldn’t you want the ability to sell images to people that visit your website?

    Allen Murabayashi

    3 November, 2008 at 04:02

  10. Ciao ALlen,

    Well, I did sign up for a trial @ photoshelter, but in trial version I can not customize the site. I must admit, that photoshelter site like
    http://www.joshmcculloch.com/
    does look very good, but then again I don’t know how much effort does it take to make it. Do I need to hire a designer + hire somebody who will rewrite the html code for the site? I guess so. I don’t know, because I’m not going to pay a yearly fee to try it out. Simple as that.

    aphotofolio is planning to broaden their service so they will offer archive search and other stuff.

    Thx for the comment,
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    3 November, 2008 at 18:45

  11. […] was blogging about choosing a right website provider HERE andHERE, and […]

  12. Appreciating the persistence you put into your blog and detailed information
    you offer. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same
    outdated rehashed information. Fantastic read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including
    your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    free minecraft accounts

    10 February, 2014 at 00:02

  13. This is really interesting, You are an excessively skilled blogger.

    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to in search of extra of your wonderful post.
    Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks

    Facebook

    29 July, 2014 at 02:46


Leave a Reply

