TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

My decision about the site is narrowed down

with 3 comments


Lately I don’t blog that much because I’m occupied with choosing new site. I came to a conclusion I want to have full screen images and that narrows down to two sites: Icreations.com and aphotofolio.com. As former DRR.net member I received additional 25% discount from Icreations, so their site would cost me $600 USD + hosting $90 USD / year. Aphotopholio has the price of $1000 USD + hosting $204 USD / year. I decided for icreations but when I was testing the site I noted that their site is severely cropping images + I can not add captions. I hope they will solve the cropping problem ASAP. you could see my yesterday’s test HERE and click enter site. Then click portfolio and resize the frame.

PS: and the winner izzzz…
Thx guys for the comments. I didn’t realized that uploading images on icreations is slower then at aphotofolio. Showing images fast and smooth is crucial because of first impression. Clients will not have a patience to wait for images to upload. Bottom line is that icreations have great service, good price, but they are specialized for wedding, portrait and commercial photography, so their images don’t have captions. That is crucial to my photojournalistic work. I like also sitewelder.com and clickbooq. Nevertheless I decided to go for aphotofolio. More about it on the end of the week… Oh shit, I just remembered on the end of the week I’m off to Bosnia. Well, later…

Written by Borut Peterlin

3 November, 2008 at 08:40

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Borut, interesting!… Just my opinion: when i click to the image on the right it takes me a few seconds to reload the image: isn’t that a bit slow?

    Rock on! Marta

    Marta L.

    3 November, 2008 at 11:30

  2. I may have to agree with Marta abcdefghijk(l)mnopqrstuvwxyz. Making a site is tough, and takes time to test it out. The cropping thing is really annoying because it seems you want to scroll or do something. I would write to the programmers of my site builders to have changes done…most of the time they would do it.

    Don’t forget to vote and see you soon my main cefur…bought a one way ticket from New York to New Town on Cefuria airways.

    barack

    3 November, 2008 at 14:40

  3. Thx Grande Čefurius and Larta M.,
    Guys @ icreations solved the problem with adding borders to pictures. It looks slick! Check out the second portfolio named Borders.
    http://www.icreations2.com/borut/#

    Concerning the image uploading.
    I can not judge from my office, because I have an optical connection that is super fast and I know that other States of Slovenia are not as developed as Dolenjska and we know that USA can not really compete in Internet connections with developed countries like India, Ireland and Dolenjska Republic (former Republic of United States of Slovenia)

    But seriously,
    I want to compare image viewing on
    icreations
    http://www.icreations2.com/borut/#
    with aphotofolio
    http://aphotofolio.com/website-design-2/
    and then judge what is better.

    Cheers,
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    3 November, 2008 at 18:27


Leave a comment