TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Vilko Filač died

with 7 comments

I just read @ MMC that Vilko Filač died. He was cameraman of Emir Kusturica‘s best movies. Their movies won two awards in Cannes, in Venice and many, many others.

I remember him that when I was in Secondary school thinking to go to study in FAMU Academy in Prague, a friend of mine mentioned that her relative Vilko Filač graduated there. I called him and he gave me a phone number of a student who was currently studying there and from him I received first contact to FAMU Academy. I met him only recently a year ago in front of Foto Format. I took few portraits of him on 6×9 format camera. His films and his success was inspiration for all FAMU students!

Thank you for a small seed that grew into a large tree!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Written by Borut Peterlin

27 November, 2008 at 01:06

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. neka pociva u miru.

    nenad djapic

    27 November, 2008 at 13:40

  2. A brilliant talent and a formidable inspiration to our generation at FAMU.

    jc

    27 November, 2008 at 14:07

  3. I had the pleasure of being Vilko’s assistant in Brazil. I’m really sad to hear about his death. A great man, a brilliant cinematographer.

    fernanda riscali

    28 November, 2008 at 23:25

  4. […] on Nov. 8, and of Boris Fyodorov, a Russian economic reformer, who died on Nov. 20. Borut Peterlin notes the death of Vilko Filač, the “cameraman of Emir Kusturica’s best movies.” Posted by […]

  5. Requiescat in pace.

    ep

    30 November, 2008 at 14:08

  6. I too am very sad to hear this news. He was one of the DOPs we had under consideration to shoot my feature film The DISAPPEARANCE OF FINBAR and we had some great conversations about Kustarica , abut cinematography, landscape and al sorts of things.

    I was due to go stay with him in Croatia this spring and discuss my new film with him. Sadly the dates didnt work out, but I still had the fantasy of being on the coast, and having leisurely and creative debate with him in the sunshine.

    My very best to al his family and friends and condolences.

    Sue Clayton

    Sue

    30 November, 2008 at 14:57

  7. Vilko was the best man you can cross in this world… big talent, big respect and big heart !
    every person who worked with him can say that…

    Miss you, Vilko
    It was great to shared a piece of life with you !

    Ciao Amigo

    Nobody

    30 December, 2008 at 20:47


Leave a Reply

