TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

R. R. lecture in Cankarjev dom

with 7 comments

r._BPT_3736BPT_3744
I just returned from the lecture of R. Riedler, an Austrian photographer. I know his work since he had great exhibition in Novo mesto, gallery APT. He is really great photographer and I encourage you to visit http://www.photography.at – his site, but lecture was really bad! He spoke for more then an hour about cliches of cliches and after an hour of superficial talk for secondary school, I left back to Mladina‘s editorial. Leave a comment if the talk about his work was good.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tole si dal pa hitro na net…

    p.s.: a si mal prešaltal na rumeno stran =)?

    Jošt Franko

    28 January, 2009 at 23:24

  2. I tend to agree with Borut. The lecture was actually not a lecture at all. It was unprepared and it seemed to me that he was a bit pushed into it. The advertisement fot lecture and the lecture itself are words apart. With all respect towards his work – his talk was really nonsensical. Left after the projection. And another thing: this talk was not even suited for secondary school, he even mixed photograph shot by Alexander Gardner for Mathew Brady’s. Of course since it is a part of Brady Civil War Photograph Collection. Heh… a bit hasty and unprepared. I liked his last series of photographs though.

    Jan

    Jan

    28 January, 2009 at 23:56

  3. Cooool! What a relief! I think his work is great and i have his book about Ukraine on my bookshelf. I wanted to go but i fell asleep in the afternoon and just wasn’t into going when time came… So it’s nice to hear i didn’t miss much…

    ivan

    29 January, 2009 at 02:48

  4. I was in Paris so I am happy I didn’t make the trip to hear this lecture. What I really miss in photography these days is authorship.

    jc

    29 January, 2009 at 11:42

  5. JC you should be a lecturer @ FAMU! Born to be an author!

    B5

    29 January, 2009 at 12:23

  6. yes! and please attend my lectures…i can’t guarantee they’ll be as good as austria’s photographic gem but…at least they’ll be entertaining. if you attend you will have a private consultation with iztok.

    jc

    29 January, 2009 at 13:04

  7. o hvala bogu, jst sem bil v grobelnem in seveda nisem utegnil priti. res je, spim lahk tudi doma. njegove fotke so sicer super.

    alt jr.

    29 January, 2009 at 13:31


Leave a Reply

