TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Small marketing steps in great recession

with 27 comments

This days my schedule got a bit loosen up, so I used the time for some marketing fine tunning. I needed new visit cards and first I wanted a visit card with a hole in the middle and an embossing, but that was just too much complicating and also quite expensive. Decided to simplify it. I wondered how much info can I strip out of visit card and on the end I decided for just a telephone number and a webaddress. My good friend Jure Kocuvan liked the idea and helped me out with typography.
borut_vizitka_prva stranvizitka_zadnjastranBPT_8463vizitka z luknjo This is the first – unrealized version.

Second small fine tunning I did with a help of Jure was a favicon icon on my site www.borutpeterlin.com/. It’S really difficult to make an icon that makes sense and that the message comes across in the size of 16 x 16 pix. This is the first version, but the number 5 was blending too much with background so we did a surrounding white space in a shape of a shield. I love this small almost unnoticed fine tunning, although without a question I don’t devote enough attention to them, especially on this blog.
favicon prijefavicon poslije

Last but not least I have still few more new years gifts on my shelf and they are for sale @ recession prices 🙂 Small one 20 x 30 cm is for 50 EUR, panoramic picture 100 x 30 cm is for 90 EUR. Posting cost is not included, but it should not be more then 10 EUR. They are printed on archive inkjet print, plasticized and mounted on Dubond / alumount. The plastic wrapping is just for temporary protection. The plastification of the print is a standard archiving procedure, but that is not the wrapping that is seen on this pics. All inquiries on my email borutpeterlin@hotmail.com
20090113_134220090113_1339kuhinja20090118_2090

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

27 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Borut, if noone buys them, you can give me the second one for my next birthday 😉 I really like it and it would look great above the fishtank. 😛

    amaroo

    14 February, 2009 at 08:29

  2. Ful dobra ideja za vizitke. Jaz bi edino v telefonski dal + namesto 00 (nimajo vse države 00 za izhodno) in razmislil, če ne bi telefonska bolje izgledala z ločili: -, / (, ).

    Katera barva je prava za panoramsko? Zadnja al predzadnja fotka? Je tonirana? 🙂

    ivan

    14 February, 2009 at 10:40

  3. ja, je tonirana. Pravilni toni so definitivno zgornji, bolj umirjeni.

    glede izhodne št. Vem, da nimajo vsi izhodno 00, ampak nisem še srečal nobenega, katerega država ne bi imela 00 izhodni št. Sem pa srečal enega starejšega profesorja iz anglije, ki mi je rekel, da njegov telefon nima +
    🙂
    tudi ostala ločila so mi zoprna in predvsem odvečna.

    @Maja,
    velja. Dobiš za rojstni dan (katerga že?), ti pa meni 20 vreč cementa, prav?

    Borut Peterlin

    14 February, 2009 at 10:50

  4. Great blog! I love favicons…and no one speaks enough about them! Finally someone with balls! What web color did you use for the backround first Favicon before designing the shield?

    jc

    14 February, 2009 at 12:28

  5. Thank you for the queston JC!
    And actually you are right! I did stick out my neck and endanger the safety of my family to shade light on the issue of favicon in the first – developed world. I just hope some embassies will not be burned down!

    Before white shield background, the background was transparent and that didn’t work out because gray color was blending to much with the background, especially when new tab is open.

    HEY EVERYBODY, JC DID UPLOAD PICS THAT HE TOOK IN SLOVENIA! CHECK IT OUT http://www.jeanchristophecouet.com
    And you want believe it… It’s in focus!

    B5
    PS By the way JC, your favicon sucks!

    Borut Peterlin

    14 February, 2009 at 13:12

  6. ahhhh you bastard! My favicon was done is Vladivostok in the 1980’s before they existed! My family endured much pain during this process and you should be really more sensitive about it. My work is NOT mean to be in focus. It mus be your screen. Obviously you are using Jabolko and that is for professionals. Anyway enjoy these few new pictures because I plan to even strip some out. I’m going Lo-Fi!

    jc

    14 February, 2009 at 13:21

  7. of course! Good old JC.
    When somebody complain about his work, he starting to undress and strip on the tables, with loud offbeat singing. It was funny in the first semester in 1994 and I must admit it was funny to me also in second semester, but wake up man! Now it’s 2008!!!!

    Borut Peterlin

    14 February, 2009 at 14:02

  8. you were complaining about my work? i thought you were complaining about my favicon?! You confusing twat! You can’t play mind games with your friends on your blog it is too cruel. Not everyone has talent like you…I mean look at the rest of us and the people who comment on your blog. You must be laughing away in Novo Mesto with the power you hold over them.

    jc

    14 February, 2009 at 14:06

  9. Jawol! Ich bin Schindler, Oscar Schindler!
    Und ja, warum nicht deine favicon ist ka ka!

    Borut Peterlin

    14 February, 2009 at 14:09

  10. Meine Favicon ist die beste in der welt! Stark wie ein stein und herzlich wie eine kleine deutsch kind von Koln!

    jc

    14 February, 2009 at 14:11

  11. Looks like I’m the last man standing!I win! Posting a post after this would certainly apppoint you the loser of this great blog debacle of the century!

    jc

    14 February, 2009 at 15:44

  12. indeed I just thought now this post is dead! Nobody will comment after this ping pong. Well I hope I helped somebody in the fight against recession with bringing up the favicon issue!

    Borut Peterlin

    14 February, 2009 at 16:34

  13. And it just keeps on going!!!!

    jc

    14 February, 2009 at 16:38

  14. for sure! we are now on 16th comment!

    Borut Peterlin

    14 February, 2009 at 17:25

  15. And now for something completely the same.

    jc

    14 February, 2009 at 17:34

  16. Nekaj jih je z različno od 00, med drugimi Kuba, Kirgizistan in ZDA 🙂

    http://www.howtocallabroad.com/codes.html

    And now back to your regular programming… :))

    ivan

    14 February, 2009 at 17:45

  17. JC!
    I think we make history!
    Did you heard about twitter success stories? i think they will shut it down! I mean this kind of comments are totally heretic! If Nirvvana kid would still be alive he would b proud!

    Borut Peterlin

    14 February, 2009 at 17:47

  18. So close to 20…c’mon!!!!!!!!!

    jc

    14 February, 2009 at 17:56

  19. It is already 20th comment man! You’re mac is wrong! Restart it and open it in Safari and you’ll see this is already 21st comment!

    Borut Peterlin

    14 February, 2009 at 18:41

  20. so then I won! Hey…you…visitors of this blog!!!! shame on you for not participating! FUJ!

    jc

    14 February, 2009 at 18:56

  21. HA, HA, HA…
    I guess you will not top that comment!
    Panoramic picture is sold!

    But JC, if you want to buy it, I can paint it again for you!
    😉

    B5

    16 February, 2009 at 00:10

  22. What did you sell? what? who? when? I’m in New York…back to my six figure life style. fuj

    jc

    17 February, 2009 at 04:06

  23. joj tole z vizitkami pa sploh ne bi blo tok drago ves, sam s svedrom bi prevrtu pa je, tko k to delajo tiskarji za une kuverte k majo luknce pa sponko pol da se zaprejo,… res cist simpl, fora je sam da das spodi pa zgori en mal trsi materjal, da ti ne razcefra zgornje in spodnje vizitke

    stoko

    18 February, 2009 at 15:32

  24. god damn you stoko! you just had to be the last one to comment…you bastard! go back to russia!

    jc

    18 February, 2009 at 15:48

  25. ja v rusiji vse nardimo, mamo tut ideje dobre (kdo drug bi se spomnu psa v vesolje poslat), tko da najprej upras, pol nared 😛

    stoko

    19 February, 2009 at 07:25

  26. Sem imel to v planu + suhi žig, ki stane 100 EUR, potem pa sem zaklel in rekel, da bom čim manj štal delal in se vprašal kaj vse lahko zradiram.

    JC. I think you’ve lost! I guess you don’t stand a chance against us Russians!

    Borut Peterlin

    19 February, 2009 at 16:00

  27. The real loser here is the blog. You have a million images in your archive, you boast about doing tons of work, and yet this blog hasn’t been updated in soooo long. Your blog is in recession! Your blog has been hit by the crisis! All of these kids starving in Japan dying to see another flashy colour image must wait. Is that fair? Is it?

    jc

    19 February, 2009 at 16:13


Leave a Reply

