TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New cover page of Mladina weekly 08/2009

with 15 comments

Mladina 08/2009 - 1_Mladina 08/2009 - 2Mladina 08/2009 - 3_Mladina 08/2009 - 4
This are four versons of cover page of Mladina weekly 08/2009, which theme is devoted to analyze of depression by former finance minister Dušan Mramor. Slogan "počilo bo" it means it’ll burst!
Which one is best for you? Cover page is printing already, but I want to know your opinion.


BOTTOM RIGHT VERSION WON!!! My favorite was upper right version, because in the bottom right version there was a hand, that I had to retouch out, but it wasn’t perfectly executed. In the morning I was told bottom left was chosen because on that picture balloon didn’t burst yet, but aesthetically it the weakest so I was kind of disappointed. Their explanation was exactly the same as Žan’s comment that the slogan “it will burst” suits the most bottom left picture. My main criteria is that cover must look good, so I was relieved that editors changed their mind and chosed bottom right version. THX FOR ALL THE VOTES!
Creative director: Robert Botteri
Design: Damjan Ilić
Photography: Borut Peterlin

PS: Before JC will ask how I did it… I bought water balloons for 3 EUR, fill it up with water and hang it on a rope that I tied on the balcony. I thought stronger the flash lite, shorter is the flash burst, but no. My Balcar 1500Ws made all blurry pictures, so I used Nikon SB 900 and that was perfect. I had a flash in left hand and spike in right hand. I was shooting at night and during exposure of 2 sec, I burst the balloon and fired the flash manually. It’s not that difficult, but it does need some training. I was not satisfied with my first try and next day I bought more balloons and redo the shoot. On the second try every image was perfect. Few small tricks: Use telelens and with your body you can cast shadow on the lens, so it’s perfectly illuminated. I did also pictures so flash was behind the balloon, but then picture was too flat. From side I got this kind of beautiful 3D illumination.
PPS: Oh… AND DO USE PLASTIC BOOTS NOT RUNNING TRAINING SHOES!

Written by Borut Peterlin

25 February, 2009 at 10:58

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice design. I love it.

    Nigel Tomm

    25 February, 2009 at 11:03

  2. B R 🙂

    alt jr.

    25 February, 2009 at 11:13

  3. Moje meritve so pokazale, da s studijskimi flesi ponavadi dosezes cas trajanja bliska do 1/2000s. Za primer 580EX to doseze s 1/2 mocjo, medtem ko ce moc zmanjsas na 1/64 (kar je za posnetke v temi cez glavo) dosezes cca 1/30000s (z 1/128 pa 1/35000s). En moj poskus pa v zgornjem linku.

    Tadej

    25 February, 2009 at 11:51

  4. I loving it! Kot iz Discovery dokumentarca! 😉

    matjazz

    25 February, 2009 at 12:07

  5. Hvala tadej!
    Ja sem si ogledoval tvoje posnetke, ko sem raziskoval kako se to dela. Pa od Chase Jarvisa, ki je zagovarjal 2500 Ws. Pa na youtube imajo ogromno dobrih nasvetov. Kako si izmeril čas?

    @Tadej,
    I’ve checked you’re site wen I was researching how to do it. I checked also Case Jarvis who was saying that 2500 Ws is the best. Not true! And on youtube there is really a lot of good tips!
    How did you measure time of the burst?

    @matjazz,
    one comment was like GEO coverpage 🙂
    I like that! Fresh, new, unpredictable…

    Borut Peterlin

    25 February, 2009 at 12:27

  6. I’ve connected a photo-resistor to an oscilloscope and measured duration of generated signal.

    Tadej

    25 February, 2009 at 12:41

  7. I like bottom right, because it is cleanest one, and burst came from behind so a fragment of the balloon left in front. Have you tried with high speed sync, ’cause SB900 can do that?
    And please, don’t leave JC comment-less with additional technical data. 🙂
    Igor

    Igor Motl

    25 February, 2009 at 15:40

  8. Igor, my main man!
    Yes I imagine that SB900 can do everything and more, but you have to have in mind that camera was about 5 m away from the balloon and I had to burst the balloon 🙂
    Actually that was the easiest and chepest way to do it.
    B5

    B5

    25 February, 2009 at 15:50

  9. KUL! Ampak glede na slogan “Počilo bo” bi mi bil bolj v kontekstu trenutek, tik preden konica predre balon. Ko se malo zarije v balon, ta pa še ne poči.

    LP Žan

    Žan

    25 February, 2009 at 16:21

  10. Of course, I understand. Honestly, I don’t care how, the result is the one that counts. And yours definitely counts. (maybe this sounds gay-ish to JC, but there weren’t gay comments for a long time, so lets spice it a bit).
    You didn’t tell us, which one is on a cover page.
    Igor

    Igor Motl

    25 February, 2009 at 16:26

  11. BOTTOM RIGHT VERSION WON!!!
    My favorite was upper right version, because bottom right version was shot with an arm, that I had to retouch out, but it wasn’t perfectly executed. In the morning I was told bottom left was chosen because on that picture balloon didn’t burst yet, but aesthetically it the weakest so I was kind of disappointed. Their explanation was exactly the same as Žan’s comment that the slogan “it will burst” suits the most bottom left picture. My main criteria is that cover must look good, so I was relieved that editors changed their mind and chose bottom right version.
    Thanks for all the votes!
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    25 February, 2009 at 19:00

  12. spet dodam samo neki kar sm ne dolgo nazaj zapazu na enmu slo fotoblogu. en je cist isto pocel, sam da je za razliko od tebe, ki si delu vse rocno, on naredu zvocni sprozilec, tko da ko je balon pocu se je sprozilec za flash sprozu 🙂 bom probu najdt un blog
    so bli pa rezultati dost podobni

    stoko

    27 February, 2009 at 13:48

  13. @ Stoko, to je Tadej, ki je pustil zgornji komentar in link na svoj post.
    thx vseeno!
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    27 February, 2009 at 14:21

  14. It will be nice for the world to be poor for a while.

    Žan

    28 February, 2009 at 04:58


Leave a Reply

