TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Crossing the finish line might not be a victory, but it surely isn’t a defeat!

with 3 comments

20080921_3138
Is crossing the finish line a victory? You know when you decide to do a project and things go wrong? First your expectations turn out to be bad, then equipment start to jam, then people get mean and this domino effect hits upon your self confidence. And this self doubt is a black hole sucking all your energy. One of my rule is to cross the finish line whatever the circumstances and avoiding a black hole of self doubt saves huge amount of energy.

I don’t go for a victory, but as Bobby Fisher said, I do everything to avoid a defeat.

I know this is the foundation of my career that my customers appreciate and depend on.

Written by Borut Peterlin

14 March, 2009 at 23:54

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It is no important to be first… just try to be in front of a second one!!! 🙂
    I see that Zack Arias had some influence on you (as on most of us). I’ll ask you what and where is the victory? Sometimes, victory is not crossing the finish line, to have strength not to cross. But, let’s face it… we all have our races, our goals and expectations. Ones victory is often others loss and vice versa. I believe in persistence, trueness and honesty. Clear conscience and a free mind is a ultimate victory for me.

    Igor

    P.S. I like this photo!!!

    Igor Motl

    15 March, 2009 at 01:06

  2. Ciao Igor,
    zack arias did inspire me, but not for this post. I had a conversation with a friend and this metaphor stayed in my mind. What I wanted to say is that I can not stress out enough how important is a trust to be depended upon in a career. And this has nothing to do with resources, but resourcefulness. And quitting is a very addictive habit! So I decided to stay on the other side, although sometimes that might not be the best idea.
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    15 March, 2009 at 14:13

  3. I think you should stop living your life by other people’s famous quotes.

    jc

    16 March, 2009 at 15:30


Leave a Reply

