TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New Stripitz creaive portrait – Domen Lombergar

with 6 comments

domen_lombergar_20090403_5408_Borutpeterlin_com
My next Striptiz creative portrait commisioned by Mladina is Domen Lombergar. Domen Lombergar is an artist that is dealing with photography and strong post production photo montage. His images are surreal and since he have an exhibition Cyber Punk:Posthuman in Metelkova citym, I decied to do something in this direction. I wanted to do his portrait with his feel, but without digital manipulation. Actually I don’t have nothing against digital manipulation, but I prefer to manipulate pictures in an analog way. So I decided that I’ll wrap whole room in an aluminum folio, to create a cyber-punk feel. Luckily his computer room was a perfect set to make a picture. He is working on three screens simultaneously so that was perfect for me. It took m something like three hours to do the picture, although it felt like an hour. Luckily Domen was a patient model and we did several scenarios. I even tryed to wrap him in aluminum, but that felt a bit too much, like a cheap masquerade, so I decided that black coat and leather glows would work much better. Here are few more pics in the making of…
20090403_5431_20090403_540920090403_5383_20090403_5358
20090403_090820090403_091120090403_5340

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice!!! Mostly, I like to look at the picture and create my own story about it and then to read a text about it. So, at first sight, I thought he has to do something with ice and maybe climate changes, maybe because his gloves or maybe because that blue(ish) tone of aluminum folio.Domen does great montage, but somehow I can not connect your photo with his work. Maybe a photo no.4 where only his eye is visible. On the other side, I’m looking at the picture all over again, his pose is telling me that he is an artist, maybe painter (reminds me to a Rembrandts posing).
    I like this portrait!!!
    Igor

    Igor Motl

    6 April, 2009 at 00:41

  2. Ciao Igor,
    thx for the past midnight comment! You are right. It’s not meant to be about his work, but it’s about Domen. And you know me, I use person’s work as a starting point, not at all finishing point. I also choose a different direction. I’m not sure if that makes sense. Maybe I’ll make a better answer in the morning 🙂

    Borut Peterlin

    6 April, 2009 at 01:05

  3. Looking awesome, my friend. Thanks again for an amazing portrait and a great time making it 🙂

    Domen Lombergar

    6 April, 2009 at 11:34

  4. Thank you Domen for all the patience! It’S been my pleasure!
    and sorry for making mistake. Place of exhibition is ORto pub and not Metelkova!
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    6 April, 2009 at 22:01

  5. kak si pa prišel do modre na vsem razen Domnu?
    LP

    mb

    8 April, 2009 at 22:57

  6. nora ideja, pa lepo je videt, da ti iz portreta v portret kar ne in ne zmanjka idej in energije, da dosežeš kar si zamisliš, to me prepričuje, da se vračam na tvoj blog.

    JH.

    15 April, 2009 at 20:50


Leave a Reply

