TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Credit card thieves targeting photographers

with 10 comments

20090408_9826I received an email where a person wanted to hire me to do a wedding photography in Barcelona and asked me for a price of my service. I said OK and I’ve sent a price and they said OK but they wanted to pay in advance + 5000 EUR for their agent.
WTF!!!!! I guess guys from Democratic Republic of Kongo changed their tactic and now they are aiming at photographers! I’m attaching my frozen credit card that I’ve photographed recently for a magazine. How appropriate.
Here is their email. I guess they will not sue me 🙂
B5

Hello Borut,
I and my wife appreciate your acceptance in assisting us greatly actually it’s my first time visiting your great country though my wife has been there before.meanwhile your email content is well accepted by me and we would like to make pre payment with my credit card to enable you handle the services efficiantly before the date for our wedding.
Note that we want to give you the advance payment of your total service costs.Please in a situation you do not own a P.O.S machine, kindly notify me to discontinue with this booking arrangement for the safety of my credit card.
I have also contacted an Agent who will help us secure Accomodation,Transportation for the quest and they said it will cost them about *****Euro for their services.
However, upon the receipt of my credit card, confirm if you will charge as follows,Deduct Advance payment of your services *********** will be for printing advance + 100euro as the credit card processing fee/transfer fee and 5,000EUR as pre payment for our Agent as they demanded.
I really need you to make the charges for the Agent,They does not have a P.O.S machine and more over they are not yet a credit card merchant therefore can not process credit cards.
Please we need your extablishment name for the credit card Authorization and also your direct phone contact for easy comunication ok.
I awaits your kind accptance response.
Best Regards
************

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tell then they can pay using paypal.com and you will be happy to accept the 5k 🙂

    Iztok

    5 May, 2009 at 23:13

  2. Sure and then somebody will knock on my door. 😦

    Borut Peterlin

    5 May, 2009 at 23:16

  3. What I really do not get is sucky english language in these letters. Don`t they have any “scammers 101 english” lessons?

    Domen

    6 May, 2009 at 07:52

  4. “scammers 101 english”…classic…you should google this scenario but there is a long list of scams. my room mate was involved in a scam where someone wanted to buy his used car but wanted to pay more than it was worth. they sent him a fake check and asked him to ship the car through a dodgy local contact…meanwhile the check doesn’t clear and bingo…

    paypal takes a huge percentage over €500 and in the EURO zone most transfers are inexpensive…

    great stuff though…great letter. i’d love to hire this guy to do my scamming at my wedding.

    jc

    6 May, 2009 at 09:23

  5. by the way did you know that there are a group of vigilantes on the net that pray on scammers. i don’t remember their website but they actually scammed a group of nigerian scammers pretty bad and had the whole thing recorded.

    here are some info: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Internet_vigilantism

    jc

    6 May, 2009 at 09:32

  6. So… interesting… no P.O.S. no business… except for agent… 🙂

    so, you had to pay agent via Western Union? I guess…

    Matty

    6 May, 2009 at 10:35

  7. Aj, jaj. Zaj pa so že na poročnih fotografih.

    Gregor

    11 May, 2009 at 21:07

  8. jc, these guys had quite some fun with a london based scammer:

    http://www.zug.com/pranks/powerbook/

    Oto

    17 May, 2009 at 11:27

  9. At least you got a good story to blog about… 😉 – for free!

    daria369

    27 May, 2009 at 15:11

  10. Great, thanks! ^_^

    trad

    1 June, 2009 at 15:43


Leave a Reply

