TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New Striptiz portrait – Dragana Alfirević, an actress

with 6 comments

dragana alfirevic by borutpeterlin.com 20090512_1818
Dragana Alfirević is an actress that had a theater performance in Theater Glej. Mosaic theater performance is exploring contemporary paradigm of a women in a context of feminism and women in art. In the performance a body of women is exposed to double treat of public / privat, object / subject. Theater performance was today and also tomorrow on Tuesday 19th of May 2009 in Theater Glej.

For this portrait I used two flashes, one 1500Ws in the back and second one with softbox, but diffused light by softbox was a bit wage. I wanted harsher and more dramatic light so I used detached SB-900, set it on 1/64 power and illuminated separately face, arms, legs, flowers,… That was much better effect. i was shooting for almost an hour. On the end I liked two pictures. On first one was better environment with dramatic shadows, but second one was better the portrait of Dragana. I merged two pictures in Photoshop. I could do it in one take, but I was late for next news photo-term and I had to run.

More Striptiz portraits you can see HERE. They are commissioned by Mladina weekly.

A reader of my blog asked me some time ago how do I do it that face is in normal colors and environment is all blue. You could do it in several ways. First I set up vibrance really high like 80-100 and then I take out the color with desaturation like -10. Secondly I use normal saturation tool (ctrl + U) and choose a color I want to saturate or desaturate and on the end I make a selection around flowers for instance and set it exactly as I wanted. If you want more details in this direction I can describe it. I just find out some wicked tricks how and when to use recovery and fill in tools.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hehe, sweet. Ultra wide angle lens really adds to this image.

    Klemen

    19 May, 2009 at 02:07

  2. Aja, pa hlače so namenoma malce preveč odpete (NSFW hihi)?

    Klemen

    19 May, 2009 at 02:08

  3. naaaaaaaaaice…i like.

    jc

    19 May, 2009 at 12:29

  4. This is really striptease portrait. 🙂

    igor5rovic

    19 May, 2009 at 12:39

  5. Eden izmed boljsih striptizov. Top vizualizacija koncepta!

    Kaja

    19 May, 2009 at 22:33

  6. Tile zadnji posti so res super…way to go! Pri tej fotki mi je svetloba bomba…edino kompozicija me malce zmoti…nevem ali bi morala biti total center ali pa ne…lih nekaj vmes je…pa tudi visi malo…. Ampak to so finese…

    Ciril

    22 May, 2009 at 21:16


Leave a Reply

