TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New spectacular Striptiz portrait; Klemen Globočnik

with 12 comments

20090610_7130-klemen_globocnik_foto_borutpeterlin.com
Klemen Globočnik, an artist and together with Matic Zorman an author of project Masacre of Average (Masaker povprečja). He was portrayed when a balloon of water burst behind his head. I had this idea already in the end of February, but we had to wait so the temperatures would be warmer. Readers of my blog will still remember that at the time I shot the cover page for Mladina weekly HERE and already at that time I learned all the tricks how to shoot bursting balloon. I knew Balcar 1500 Ws is not so fast flash that would freeze water drops and in this case that was a great effect.

Well this time it was much more difficult. I wanted to make picture more interesting by hiding gravity. As you can see water is evenly around his head. My camera was on the ground, Klemen was leaning above the camera and behind his head was a balloon and a studio flash with 1500 Ws. Then I asked Tina to burst a balloon and in that moment I triggered hand held flash Nikon SB900 that triggered Balcar as well. Of course we were all wet, but camera was in Ewa Marin bag and Nikon flash was wrapped in an ordinary plastic shopping bag. We made five tries, but second one was best. I’m publishing behind the shoot images. I would like to brag that it was high end production, but it’s not. As you know Striptiz is shot on no-budget policy, but at least in that way recession can not do any harm to my work 🙂

Portrait commissioned by Mladina weekly.
More Striptiz portraits on www.borutpeterlin.com
Thanks to Klemen, Tina & Bojan Brecelj on who’s parking lot we wet it.

This is the image as camera recorded. You can see myself and Tina above Klemen.
20090610_7130_20090610_7108
20090610_7104_20090610_7107

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Humm.. link do prve fotke ne dela.
    20090610_7130-klemen_globocnik_foto_borutpeterlin.com

    Sicer je pa končni rezultat top, vidm da osvežitev paše v poletnih mesecih ;).

    Oto

    11 June, 2009 at 19:01

  2. Kako si pa potem odkloniral moteče elemente, da so kapljice ostale lepe? Patience, grasshopper?

    Klemen

    11 June, 2009 at 20:22

  3. @ Klemen
    I cloned out the distractive elements in the following way:
    I took right upper corner, made it into layer, flipped it, rotate it and adjust it to it’s place. I made a quickmask and used a brush with 0% of hardness. You always have to make curves, since straight lines are much more visible. With other parts I used just a cloning tool with sharp edges (0% hardness) and clone it in curves. Pretty simple and fast.

    It was more difficult to choose color settings. In lightroom I made like numerous versions (snapshots) of color settings, clarity, hue, saturation & vibrance, etc… and then I chose the one above.
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    11 June, 2009 at 22:05

  4. Oh, that reminds me: are you familiar with Virtual copies in Lightroom? I think it’s a great way of testing various settings of postproduction on one image (and comparing it afterwards). More on this here:
    http://digital-photography-school.com/working-with-virtual-copies-in-lightroom

    Klemen

    11 June, 2009 at 22:11

  5. Each of us at first thinks about Adobe Photoshop creativity; but when you realise, that it is REAL, you only can neal to the ground.
    Đizs….
    The technique does not surprise me at last, but your incredible ideas.

    tamino

    11 June, 2009 at 22:22

  6. Spet spetcacular indeed! No comments this time! Fuc**** smart idea! And coz of that u are a fu**** great photographer! Sorry for the strong language…

    matjazz

    11 June, 2009 at 22:27

  7. Thanks my main man! I mean everybody! I always remember a comment from our great friend, that I should stop doing the project when I’m on top. He said that sort of two years ago, but I replied I’m still nowhere close to the top 🙂
    And I mean it. I can’t believe I’m doing this for three years already every week a new portrait and I have many more ideas to try out.
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    11 June, 2009 at 23:23

  8. I am specially happy that u stoped using digital manipulation (after 2 images) and you continue with good old analogue dirty tricks! 😉 This is what makes this series special!

    matjazz

    12 June, 2009 at 00:32

  9. ha!
    Terrahawks; Expect the unexpected!

    Borut Peterlin

    12 June, 2009 at 00:35

  10. Res je spectacular.

    JH.

    12 June, 2009 at 22:56

  11. Tole pa je mokro. Vidim, da imaš tudi Eva-Marine vrečko, sicer malo večji model. Jaz sem nabavil kakšen mesec nazaj in pred kratkim stestiral v bazenu.

    UrosG

    19 June, 2009 at 11:48

  12. Ful huda fotka ter pohvale za idejo in izvebo!

    zigalovsin

    20 June, 2009 at 15:34


Leave a Reply

