TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Matjaž Tančič portrayed in Striptiz manner

with 20 comments

matjaz_tancic_photo_borutpeterlin.com_20090622_8159
_
matjaz_tancic_photo_borutpeterlin.com_20090622_8186
_
matjaz_tancic_photo_borutpeterlin.com_20090622_8202_kaja_pogacar_matjaz_tancic_borutpeterlin.com_BPT_8229
Matjaž Tančič is a photographer from Ljubljana and a student of photography on a fashion college in London. He send few pictures to Google Photography Prize contest and among 36.000 applications he was short-listed among six photographers and he’ll have an exhibition tomorrow in Saatchi & Saatchi gallery. At the opening winner will be declared.

Mladina will write an extensive article about his work and commissioned me to do one of my far-out portraits. I was super happy because I knew Matjaž will be up for crazy pictures and furthermore will help me with the organization. When we were brainstorming how to do the picture I thought on Airbus airplane as a background and Matjaž as fallen angel pulling the plane. I called my friends friends to get the access on the Jože Pučnik airport and Matjaž called his friends to get the wings, styling, make up and Kaja Pogačar to assist us with the shooting.

Of course we couldn’t get Airbus, but we did get access to smaller planes. I chose Cessna 172, because of high leveled wings. The hardest was to get the angle where details of Matjaž (wings, chain, make up, styling, expression) were visable and still have the airplane recognizable. Since plane was rather small I decided to illuminate the wings from behind and keep background dark. We moved the airplane so it was aligned with roof windows. We did this picture really fast and then we had to move the airplane and make a space for other plane to exit. Since we were all excited we decided to do the picture of an homeless angel with helicopter. A colleague from Mladina asked me why metaphor of fallen angel and the best answer was Why not? I’m not payed to interpret my photos!

Then Matjaž suggested to do another picture with crate that was standing in the corner. I liked the natural light, so we didn’t even use flashes.

Anyway, which photo do you prefer? I’m affraid there is not enough space for three portraits. Please vote for one!

Thanx to Alfa Histria, Aviation Service.
Styling: Miro Design.
Makeup: Ana Lazovski.
Assistent Kaja Pogačar.
Photography: Borut Peterlin.
Commisioned by Mladina.

PS: photo Kaja Pogačar
B5 IN TANCIC2 foto Kaja Pogačar_B5 IN TANCIC3 foto Kaja Pogačar

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The first one is great (for Striptiz), but I think the fragile one suits him better (and the nature of his profession). So I’m going with the third option.

    Klemen

    22 June, 2009 at 18:00

  2. I’d go with the third too.

    The first one is just bad picture. While facial expression is mucho cool, the wings do not come across well (are these wings or giant kučma, hmmm…), the plane is growing out of his body and the background is just too cluttered.

    Second one has striptiz flavour, but I – like you Mladina collegaue – just can’t see the story in it.

    Third one is cool. Not perfect, but cool. 🙂 I’d lose the escape sign though…

    ivan

    22 June, 2009 at 20:16

  3. Absolutno tretja. Cestitam.

    Domen Lombergar

    22 June, 2009 at 22:34

  4. I vote for no.3. I like it the most. It has some correlation with his work and it is great picture in my opinion. I would like to see pictures no.1 and no.2 outside the hangar. No.1 and no.2 are more you and no.3 is he.
    Igor

    Igor Motl

    22 June, 2009 at 22:47

  5. Weeeeel, I quite agree with all the comments. Just that exit sign must stay… I just love the sentence: A colleague from Mladina asked me why metaphor of fallen angel and the best answer was Why not? I’m not payed to interpret my photos! 😀 😀 😀 LOL…

    Why?.. Well… Angels are commonly used in art and fashion… Airplane symbolise my constant flights between LDN and LJ… Chain… struggle in fashion photography business… Silver…D&G fashion adds….

    matjazz

    23 June, 2009 at 10:27

  6. Tudi jaz za 3.
    Fragile in escape znak … zmagovalna kombinacija 🙂

    alenka

    23 June, 2009 at 10:43

  7. Fragile is the best but i do love No2 too.

    Kristina Kurkina

    23 June, 2009 at 11:44

  8. druga!!!!

    akvarij

    23 June, 2009 at 15:41

  9. po mojem skromnem osebnem mnenju storywise in kompozicijsko druga zmaga 😀

    Cwithe

    23 June, 2009 at 16:50

  10. No. 3 suits Matjaz the best. And escape sign is a must!!!

    tjasulja

    23 June, 2009 at 17:39

  11. Thx everybody! I have a problem with emotional attachment to the original idea (first picture), but as I say often, myself as an author, I’m a minor factor in the creative process, so best pictures are those that are not planned by rational process, but take their way with the flow of circumstances and in the best case I follow it, as beggars begging for mercy.
    thx again to you readers and people who helped me out + again congratulation to Matjaž!
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    24 June, 2009 at 10:36

  12. I have a confesion to make! I even voted for the first picture, so attached I am!

    B5

    24 June, 2009 at 17:15

  13. Matjaž looks gay 🙂

    Samo

    24 June, 2009 at 17:42

  14. Well Samo… Just now is 2 years since we slept toogether on Rock Otocec…So you should know! 😉

    Matjazz

    24 June, 2009 at 22:49

  15. […] Pirc za Mladino, pa kratek intervju za 24ur.com, Info Tv, Radio 1, pa dogovarjanje za shooting z B5 za Mladinin Profil, pa poslat na Google iz kje bi rad letel v Uk in s kom (finalisti smo lahko […]

  16. Are you coming out guys? 😀

    ivan

    25 June, 2009 at 00:56

  17. haha…Ivan is it less than 2 years since our little adventure (sleeping toogether in London), soooo… 😀

    matjazz

    25 June, 2009 at 01:07

  18. THis is turning to Google Gay Pride Photography Award!
    ha, ha…

    Borut Peterlin

    25 June, 2009 at 10:51

  19. Talking about gay what is this Steven Seagal look you’re going for? The pony tail,the black tank top, and faded jeans…DZEZUS!!!

    jc

    30 June, 2009 at 12:35

  20. he, he Čef…
    To do my kind of photography you are bound to sweat. You know what Toscani said. It’s a physical work.
    🙂

    Borut Peterlin

    30 June, 2009 at 15:28


Leave a Reply

