TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Working on a new version of 5am book

with 5 comments

BPT_9235BPT_9236BPT_9239 BPT_9827BPT_9828 BPT_0015

Sorry guy for not blogging these days, but I’ve been super busy preaparing material for Arles festival. I decided to make another version of 5am book. I started this project in Fabrica in year 2000 and since 2003 I’ve made like seven versions of the book, but after my postgraduate studies in London College of Communication I stoped making new versions, although when I traveled to Kosovo, Bosnia, Croatia, Ukraine, Germany, France, China I was still photographing.

Oh… the concept… It’s very simple. I wanted to photograph in different places of the world at the same time of day. I’ve chosen 5am, because it’s so ambiguous  time of the day, when parties are ending and work starts, when day it’s not over, but it also didn’t start yet,… AND THAT BEUTIFUL MORNING LIGHT!!! The serenity of quite morning after a loud night. It’s pure magic! I’ll build a website with this material during the weekend.

My work flow is that I gather all the files in one folder. Then I make a broader selection, then I print all pictures and place them on the floor (wall is better). Then I was making a linear story and while doing that I was making pairs of individual pictures. I gather pairs into clutters and thinking how and where should I include them in the linear sequence. Then I put this raw sequence in digital form, print it out and lay it down again. Fine tunning was done in Indesign. From 250 pictures I edit it down to something like hundred and six images. From Indesign I exported it to PDF and today I’ve ordered prints in the lab. As you know my wife is binding books (alenkapeterlin.com) so she’ll make a lovely book. I also order a book in blurb.com, but uncompressed book in CMYK is 1,4 GB and that will take like 24 hours to upload.

Anyway what I want to say is I work really hard and I’ll make my posts more simple with less text and more pics. Here is one that I really love. Ministers Mitja Gaspari and Ivan Svetlik last Wednesday in parliament on celebration of 18th anniversary of Slovenia’s Independence day.

20090624_8856

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow photos are everywhere. There’s something comforting about surrounding yourself with what you love, I think, even if it can be stressful

    todaysnewsart

    30 June, 2009 at 23:41

  2. It ‘s a perfect writing. Thank you.

    toan hoc

    30 June, 2009 at 23:57

  3. what’s all the bw prints?

    jc

    2 July, 2009 at 10:55

  4. B/W prints are from b/w laser printer with layout of the book. I’m just working to put it on the site.
    B5

    B5

    2 July, 2009 at 12:32

  5. Hej Borut

    meni je cudovita.
    Dejansko mi je ful usec ; )

    Iris

    2 July, 2009 at 14:53


Leave a Reply

