TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New book 5am available @ blurb.com

with 19 comments

5am
A photography edit…
By Borut Peterlin

OK. After two weeks of hard work I’ve finished with my 5am book. You can see the whole content on my site just click HERE. Let me know what do you think.

I uploaded pdf to blurb.com and ordered two versions of the same book. One will be with classic paper and soft covers (arround €20) and second will be with hard covers and premium paper (€36,95). It has 144 pages and it’s 18 x 18 cm format. For first twenty copies I’ll charge no fee (just Blurb’s production and shipping). I’m discussing with few publishing houses and it might be that they’ll ask me to stop selling the book via blurb. But until then, twenty copies are at your disposal.

PS: Yes, soft cover is still in process of Blurb’s preparation. It takes unusual long. It should be available in the evening. Sorry for that!

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Where can I get the recession soft cover book? I can not find it….

    matjazz

    2 July, 2009 at 14:37

  2. Hi Borut,

    Very cool site with great pictures (as usual).

    Here are two feedback items:
    – allow navigation through pictures by keyboard (clicking those small icons () isn’t the best experience)
    – perhaps add a brief description where makes sense (i.e. pictures that tell the story)

    Cheers

    Miha

    2 July, 2009 at 14:51

  3. I didn’t see the soft cover option to order. It is ok. Only 18 copies left. One for me and one for a gift for someone special (just to have at hand).

    Iztok

    2 July, 2009 at 14:52

  4. Yes, soft cover is still in process of Blurb’s preparation. It takes unusual long. It should be available in the evening. Sorry for that!
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    2 July, 2009 at 14:58

  5. Miha,
    what small icons? if you click on right side of the picture (PLUS) will take you to the next picture. If you click on left side of the screen (MINUS) It’ll take you back. On far left is menu bar, on far right are thumbnails. Can it be more simple?

    All pictures as thumbnails are on the last pages with the name of places where they were taken. I didn’t want to caption them, because that would be too distracting from the narrativeness of the story.
    thx!

    Iztok for sure! Always 🙂

    Borut Peterlin

    2 July, 2009 at 15:09

  6. Hehe, missed the minus/plus signs meaning – I was automatically clicking on < and > signs (Next and previous images icons at the bottom center). But still, navigating using keyboard would be a welcome navigation option.

    Regarding descriptions: I was thinking about the background of the picture, i.e. the who is the guy in front of the house (if he/she is somebody recognizable), etc.

    Miha

    2 July, 2009 at 15:17

  7. Great book my friend!!!
    I couldn’t imagine that it will be so good when you were speaking to me about 5am project. I like all those diptychs and groups that you created. I must say that there is no a single segment of it that I dislike. This book is must have.
    Congratulations Borut!!!
    Igor

    Igor Motl

    2 July, 2009 at 15:41

  8. Igor, my main Leopard man,
    thank you for the feedback. What I’m amazed is how much better pictures are from last years! Between 2000 and 2003 I was getting up every morning at 4am for at least 3 months a year. From 2003 – 2007 I photographed only few days when I was traveling and more then half of images are from that second period. Now I’m only wondering how much more would I’ve done with today’s cameras and not being limited to expensive Provia 400F.

    I’m glad you like it!
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    2 July, 2009 at 16:53

  9. It is much better when story finds you and not vice versa 🙂

    Igor Motl

    2 July, 2009 at 21:32

  10. can you xerox a copy for me at the local copying place? black and white is fine…whatever the cheaper option is. thanx

    love

    jc

    jc

    2 July, 2009 at 23:19

  11. yes, xerox is much sharper then your leica, although tonality range of grayness is about the same.
    Don’t mention it.
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    3 July, 2009 at 10:14

  12. thanks buddy…to save on costs also just skip the double pages…grazie

    jc

    3 July, 2009 at 13:48

  13. borut, can you make a review of Blurb books about their quality etc.?

    denis zupan

    6 July, 2009 at 14:37

  14. For sure. Later…

    Borut Peterlin

    6 July, 2009 at 15:40

  15. I just got email that my first order was shipped (2 hardcover). Will report when I get it. Will also do a comparison to softcover when I get that order.

    Iztok

    6 July, 2009 at 17:26

  16. I’m sure you’ll get it sooner then me. Yes, please send some pics as well! Great! THX!

    Borut Peterlin

    6 July, 2009 at 19:17

  17. Both orders (hardcover and softcover) are scheduled to be delivered on July 11th. With a little luck I will be underwater at that time so it might take a little while to take some pics and post.

    I need to find an inexpensive way to take underwater pictures at depth from 10-30m underwater. Thoughts?

    Iztok

    7 July, 2009 at 17:33

  18. I’m using Ewa marin bag, that’s not so cheap. I guess all depends what kind of camera do you use. So actually I don’t have any useful tips about that.
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    7 July, 2009 at 17:52

  19. But Ewa marin bag is not rated for such depth is it?

    Iztok

    7 July, 2009 at 19:23


Leave a Reply

