TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Blurb’s issue with dimensions for softcover

with 7 comments

A photography edit…
By Borut Peterlin

After three days of trying to make a cover for my 5am I finally succeed it! The problem is that their instructions are false. You have a good pdf how to make a soft cover page and then you come to book size calculator and that calculator was telling me that for 144 pages, standard paper, softcover my dimensions for coverpage should be:
Cover Specifications Centimeters
Final exported PDF/X3 should measure (w x h) 35.806 x 17.462

But when I uploaded the message appeared:
For a Square 7×7 inches (18×18 cm) book we are expecting a PDF that is: 992 x 495 points, or 13.778 x 6.875 inches, or 34.995 x 17.462 centimeters
The PDF that you uploaded is: 1015 x 495 points, or 14.097 x 6.875 inches, or 35.806 x 17.462 centimeters

I tried everything and nothing worked. I uploaded 16 versions in three days. Then I decided that I’ll stop messing around with document preferences, trim, bleed, spine and other marks, and I’ll deliver a coverpage of exact measures that error was asking me. I made a pdf, opened it in photoshop (bleed box) and see what size it was. Then I changed the document settings in Indesign. I didn’t wonder why 5 mm change in Indesign is not 5mm change in pdf, but I was just correcting numbers so on the end I had 34.995 cm and PDF was accepted for printing.

I waste a lot of time, but on the end I trained my determination to publish the book in softcovers. It costs €18,95 + €5,37 shipping. This is only Blurb’s production cost and only 18 / 20 copies are available under this price. Click on the book above for more info.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good job! This is way more affordable than the hardcover.

    Iztok

    4 July, 2009 at 17:44

  2. I know, hardcover is half the price of the whole book. I’m wondering what will be the difference in print quality on standard or premium paper. On some blog I read the quality is the same except the weight of the paper. I ordered both and we’ll see in few weeks.
    thx,
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    4 July, 2009 at 21:10

  3. I’ll report on the difference as well.

    Iztok

    5 July, 2009 at 03:00

  4. Did you bought already two books? As I understand you were interested in softcover and hardcover whereas I see two copies with hardcover were already sold few days ago.
    Anyway thx for your interest in my work,
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    5 July, 2009 at 15:33

  5. Yes I bought two of each type. I will keep one of each and use other two as a possible present for someone. I am always interested in your work 🙂

    Iztok

    5 July, 2009 at 17:02

  6. Naročeno… Zdej pa čičat pa čakat..

    matjazz

    6 July, 2009 at 14:54

  7. Danes dobil knjižico…Hmm… Je kar trajalo… 🙂 Lušna, itak! Fotke mega, kvaliteta pa ok.

    matjazz

    23 July, 2009 at 19:04


Leave a Reply

