TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Snapping photography

with 7 comments

Do you do snapshot photography? I used to do it. Now I can’t. Don’t know why. Too many images I guess. Who will view them? Time.

But the work of Richard Billingham and his book Ray’s a laugh it’s still one of my favourite books. And Terry Richards was working for Sisley when I was at Fabrica and I remember Toscani didn’t like his work. I didn’t like Terry’s work either, but now I do. Garry Winogrand is my favourite photographer who was snapping everything that was moving.

Am I lingering to do more snapshot photography? I think so. To plan everything in advance and knowing what and for who you are shooting it takes the magic away! Please leave a comment who is your favourite snapshot photographer. Or even a link to your favourite snapshot photograph. Let’s get inspired!



7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I remember you showing Richards photos on FOtopub years ago. And now I show his photos to people every time there is discussion about snapshot photography..He is just fantastic… Same goes for Terry…Oh my god, he is Hard Core!

    When you are talking about snapshots we have to mention Nan Goldin. She shot so many interesting series in crazy 80s in NY.

    matjazz

    27 September, 2009 at 12:25

  2. of course, Nan! She had an hour long slideshow of her snapshots in Arles this year. I guess you have to have a motif completely f… up (sjeban), so people hardly believe you that it’s true and then this casualness of snapshots works perfectly.

    Oh… I forgot the name of beautiful photographer who photographed her children with 4×5″ camera. Also snaps, but too beautiful. oh… what’s the name… She had her peak in 1994 or so. BW. I’ll remember.

    Borut Peterlin

    27 September, 2009 at 15:53

  3. It was Sally Mann, 😉

    Wouldn’t you call Parr’s photos also snapshots? Some other Magnum photographers come to mind – Eliott Erwitt, Trent Parke, Alex Majoli…

    ivan

    27 September, 2009 at 16:09

  4. YES! Sally Man! I’ve just remembered! You were faster Ivan. Parr is definetly not a snapshot photographer. Street photography, sure, but he’s not snapping what comes along he has very tight concept what he wants to shoot.

    But I’m not so into defining what’s snap photography, but just some good imagery. Inspiration of the nation public liberation and masturbation on the station!
    thx!

    Borut Peterlin

    27 September, 2009 at 16:31

  5. Yeah, I’m a bit confused that you put Garry Winogrand in this camp… Maybe we should make a distinction between snapshots and snapshot aesthetics?

    Couldn’t you say the same as for Parr for Terry Richardson? He uses snapshot aesthetics, but he’s still very deliberate, methinks…

    ivan

    27 September, 2009 at 19:46

  6. Winogrand had a motif to photograph everything just to see how it looks on the photograph. He was truly snapping every possible motifs. And yes you’re right it’s really hard to distinguish the line who is snapshot photographer and who is not.

    BTW I did made a lovely snapshot today.

    Borut Peterlin

    27 September, 2009 at 21:30

  7. “See the beauty underneath,
    ….
    I would like to do photographs where people….uhm,
    I just try to move the viewer.
    I just try to make the moust moving picture as I can. It doesn’t matter about the subject at all. I just try to make most moving picture.”

    This is how I feel about photography.

    Vandrovček

    13 November, 2009 at 23:53


Leave a Reply

