TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Tomaž Humar remains to be an inspiration

with 6 comments

Bojan Brecelj in Tomaž Humar Today there was an official confirmation that famous alpinist Tomaž Humar died in Himalaya’s mountain Langtang Lirung.

I’ve met him only once at IPAK agency in year 1999 when he was making a selection of his images with Bojan Brecelj. I remember vividly the energy that he was radiating and how strong handshake did he had. Later I heard an anecdote that once he had a meeting with a potential sponsor from Germay and when he shook a hand of a wife of this potential sponsor, he broke a bone in her palm. Obviously he didn’t won sponsorship of this man. I’m not sure if it’s true, but I heard it as I’ve told you.

Anyway his book Ni nemogočih poti and his path remain an inspiration to me. I’m training martial arts (in recreational purposes), but nevertheless I’ve train every single day for at least an hour. During trainings often I’ve wear a T-shirt he gave me ten years ago. It’s old and in bad condition, but I still have it as a power T-shirt. Why do I train so hard? I have no clue. I feel good, I feel relaxed, I feel alive. Rest in peace Tomaž.

20091114_414220091114_4055

Here are two images from my personal photo-diary. First one is with my daughters and a T-shirt of Tomaž Humar.

Written by Borut Peterlin

14 November, 2009 at 23:53

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How did he die?

    lovebug35

    14 November, 2009 at 23:56

  2. Probably it will never be absolutely sure, but he fell on Tuesday, called for help via satelite phone telling that his leg and spine is broken and died the same day. Five days later his body was found by a rescue crew from Switzerland.

    Borut Peterlin

    15 November, 2009 at 00:03

  3. From what I’ve heard, he probably died of exposure.

    As someone who has recently taken up climbing, Humar is one of the men you hear of often from older climbers. I think anyone who sets out on these sorts of trips has somewhere in the back of their head the idea that this might be the last time. He’ll be missed.

    JureF

    15 November, 2009 at 04:41

  4. I’m sorry to read this information about Tomaž Humar.

    I do want to officially wish Borut Peterlin a 35 year old birthday. Congratulations old man! You showing off your stretching abilities on your appartment’s playground is an inspiration to us all.Where can we get a pair of sweatpants like that to give to our sons and daughters? May your hair keep on growing! Peace and Happiness to your family…

    jc

    16 November, 2009 at 13:22

  5. Thank you JC! I’m saving those sweat pants for you! It will be sort of power-sweat pents for you! And big applause for JC’s 35 birthday!!!

    Stay safe dude,
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    17 November, 2009 at 12:30

  6. Faithful readers of the best blog ever(this blog, not to confuse with an actual better blog) I have seen the next striptiz project and though I will officially comment on it…I promise you that it will awesome.Borut is not just a hairy man that stretches in small towns slovenia but he is also a man of vision. This will make sense to you once you see for yourself. Let us take a moment or two to really appreciate this blog and to ask yourselves…who is Borut “two hair-cuts”Peterlin?

    jc

    17 November, 2009 at 14:07


Leave a Reply

