TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Portrait of Tomaž Lavrič

with 4 comments

tomaž lavrič / mladina / foto borutpeterlin
Tomaž Lavrič is a legendary comic writer and illustrator. His books are selling throughout the world and he received tons of awards. You can find several in Striparnica Buch. On Tuesday he’s having an exhibition opening in Museum of Modern Art in Ljubljana (more info). Although we’re colleagues working for the same magazine Mladina weekly, it was not as easy as you might think. Tomo doesn’t like that his pictures are taken and when I suggest him an idea, he wasn’t convinced and we delayed so long that we crossed the deadline. After a shout from a creative director I called Tomo and told him that the concept is to do the portrait ASAP. We met in Museum of Modern Art, hoping that his exhibition will be hanging already, but there were just blank walls. I thought on a portrait I’ve done long time ago of his colleague Darko Tomić (HERE) and I’ve made a remake of the picture. In 5 minutes this portrait was made and in next five we made a bunch more. Effectiveness of a photojournalist was always my advantage.
20100303_1359

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. some awesome photography indeed

    kseverny

    6 March, 2010 at 11:00

  2. How do you do it? Week in, week out…brilliant! Did you have your hair in a ponytail or did you let it hang loose while taking this picture?

    jc

    6 March, 2010 at 11:49

  3. JC, thank you for your question.
    I use a rubber hair band and I go two times over my pony tail, but if I want do do a really good picture, I go two and a half times across a rubber band. Yes, that’s right, the third time pony tail goes only half length through the rubber band, so it makes a tension in my long hair and that tension helps me working with my studio flashes.

    And that is my main and only secret in photography. I thought to write a book about it, but I could sense from your question, you figure it all out so there’s no need to hide that secret from professionals like yourself.
    Rock & Roll,
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    7 March, 2010 at 11:33

  4. you have outclassed my comment with your answer and for that i bow in respect.

    jc

    7 March, 2010 at 15:36


Leave a Reply

