TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New Stritpiz portrait Matjaž Schmidt

leave a comment »

Matjaž Schmidt photo: borutpeterlin.com 20100419_2364

schmidt_Panorama1

My next portrait in Striptiz rubric of Mladina weekly is Matjaž Schmidt. I didn’t had any preconceived idea because we were working on a double issue of Mladina (soccer), so we had to work intensely. After speaking a little with Matjaž we figure out that we have many good friends in common. Even when I was climbing the stairs I immediately fall in love in this old Ljubljana’s house and wondered if I should do the portrait on stairs. I decided for a portrait through a window. First I tried with a wide angle lens in front of the window, but then I decided from a balcony far right (second panorama picture) and use a tele-lens (Nikkor 70-200mm f/2,8). Telelenses are not distorting lines so, if I’m building a picture on symmetry I need straight lines. I added a studio flash in the room with Matjaž and trigger it with Profoto Air Sync.

PS: Do you know the easiest way how to make a panorama like this? Use Photoshop / File / Automate / Photomerge or watch this tutorial.

Leave a Reply

