TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Flashing like Joe McNally

with 17 comments

Few weeks ago Joe McNally was in town and today I tried out few of his tips. I bought a small Firefly softbox for my flash SB900 and I quite fancy the diffusion of the light from 1,5 meters away from subject. I usually use a 70 x 50 cm softbox with Balcar 1500Ws flash and of course the bigger the better, but also heavier…

Then I tried out a real good tip from Joe McNally. I illuminated our dinning room with a flash from outside the house and trigger it with airsync radio triggers. COOOOOL! Can’t wait to use this technique on next interview for Mladina weekly!

_BPE9358_BPE9360

To get a proper morning light yellow color cast I just set white balance to 6500K.
.
.
_BPE9370_BPE9371_BPE9382_BPE9387

Written by Borut Peterlin

17 May, 2010 at 22:03

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. NAAAAAAJS!!!
    I like McNally’s blog but he had never explained it so simple and clear. Good technique. I’ll try it too. Did I steel it now from you or from Joe? 🙂
    Is that Lučka on the picture? She grow up!

    Igor Motl

    18 May, 2010 at 00:24

  2. Or Brina? Sorry, I forgot who is the younger one. 🙂

    Igor Motl

    18 May, 2010 at 00:25

  3. hi borut…way to go….nice pic, and nice explanation….hope you are well…joe

    joe mcnally

    18 May, 2010 at 04:47

  4. Adrenaline starts to flow
    You’re flashing all around
    Acting like a mcnallyac
    Whiflash

    🙂

    Igor Petrović

    18 May, 2010 at 07:24

  5. Ciao guys,
    @Igor, yes, that’s Brina. She is growing even faster, it seems 🙂

    @Joe,
    Thx for dropping by! Yes, I’m extremely well. Doing so many projects at once is very demanding, but also rewarding. Feeling like million Euros! (I hope that Slovenia will not donate me to Greece !-)

    Borut Peterlin

    18 May, 2010 at 08:20

  6. Hey guys,

    Great post again Borut! It’s amazing what technology we have today. You make it look so simple, like its just an ordinary picture but infact it’s not. How do you do it? How do I become Borut Peterlin…

    jc

    18 May, 2010 at 11:57

  7. Borut živjo, mi lahko samo na kratko zaupaš kolikšen je realen domet Airsynca, ker teh. podatek pravi 300m, pa bi rad iz prve roke mnenje…

    In mimogrede: krasno se ti tole igraš…

    Jure

    18 May, 2010 at 17:33

  8. Jure,
    če si iz Ljubljane, pojdi do Profot trgovine, na Rimski, pri parkirišču, nasproti parkirišča, pa si sposodi airsync in ga stestiraj. Vem le, da zaenkrat še nisem slikal od tako daleč, da ne bi lovil. Razen seveda pod vodo. Pod 10 cm vode ne deluje.

    Borut Peterlin

    18 May, 2010 at 20:16

  9. @Igor
    All stories were told by ancient Greeks, so I reckon Joe got this idea from ancient Greeks!

    @JC
    You have rich parents, you don’t need to be like Borut Peterlin.

    Borut Peterlin

    18 May, 2010 at 20:18

  10. @Borut…just because I’m filthy rich and didn’t earn or deserve my money doesn’t mean I don’t need to be like Borut Peterlin!

    jc

    18 May, 2010 at 22:23

  11. I guess little Borut Peterlin is sleeping in all of us, isn’t?

    Borut Peterlin

    18 May, 2010 at 22:45

  12. […] fast, then I made a quick portrait behind his desk, illuminating him from balcony though curtains, flashing like Joe McNally It was 23 minutes from the moment I entered and the moment I exit the house. Doesn’t look […]

  13. Super…

    jh

    27 May, 2010 at 15:30

  14. Super post. Zanima me kje se dobi firefly sofbox? Prodajajo tudi prinas ali samo prek neta?

    Zoran Vogrinčič

    29 May, 2010 at 00:05

  15. Pri Šefu / Profot, na Rimski ulici nasproti Križank.
    http://www.profot.si/
    Pa povej, da si na mojem blogu slišal, ker bogve, morda še kako sponzorstvo pade v bodočnosti 🙂
    b5

    Borut Peterlin

    29 May, 2010 at 08:19

  16. Deal… kolko je pa cena če ni skrivnost?

    Zoran Vogrinčič

    29 May, 2010 at 10:11

  17. ni skrivnost, a ne prodajam.

    Borut Peterlin

    30 May, 2010 at 11:47


Leave a Reply

