TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Miki Muster – new creative portrait

with 8 comments

Miki Muster photo: borutpeterlin.com 20100518_9420

Miki Muster is one of the most renown comic writers and illustrators in Slovenia and recently his new book came out, that was in spite expectations sold out in few days. For this issue of Mladina Jure Aleksič wrote a portrait of Miki Muster. We agreed to make a portrait on Tuesday although he didn’t had much time and that was clearly expressed at the entrance. My first concept was that I would print out live-sized figures of his character s Zvitorepec, Trdonja and Lakotnik as cowboys then I would put them on the street together with Mr. Muster and put them in a classic Western position. That was ruled out on the first telephone call. So I entered his house with this idea of silhouette on a white board. I took it very fast, then I made a quick portrait behind his desk, illuminating him from balcony through curtains, flashing like Joe McNally 🙂 It was 23 minutes from the moment I entered and the moment I exit the house. Doesn’t look like, isn’t? That’s what I called efficiency of a photojournalist, ha, ha…

Miki Muster photo: borutpeterlin.com 20100518_9438

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Preprosto, dela!

    Jaka

    27 May, 2010 at 12:32

  2. Great artistic approach! Like it!

    Dušan Zidar

    27 May, 2010 at 14:59

  3. 23 minutes…
    Too fast and too furious. 🙂

    Igor Petrović

    27 May, 2010 at 15:52

  4. Aren’t you tired of hearing how awesome you are and how creative you can be in a jam? What if you’re actually feeding off these comments but at the end of the day you really aren’t good at all?

    Now…that’s a comic strip!

    jc

    27 May, 2010 at 17:42

  5. I really like this Borut, however I don’t like the crappy plastic chair and the background is a little distracting. But I’ll also definitely look at putting this into practice if I ever shoot a comic. ;p

    myphotographer

    27 May, 2010 at 20:57

  6. @ myphotographer
    I know, this plastic chair was also my concern, but it’s still better then a kitchen chair that was an option. My attitude is, if I can’t control, I don’t want to control anyway, so I go with the flow. Actually I didn’t like the background as a whole, but now, when I look at it is quite coherently crappy, so let’s call it… A CONCEPT

    🙂

    @ JC and the gang,
    thx for the comment!

    Borut Peterlin

    27 May, 2010 at 23:38

  7. In 23 minutes still a good achievement. It’s easy afterwards to say this and that could have been improved but when you are there and under a time limit it really proves your skill and this shot overall is a great shot. R

    myphotographer

    28 May, 2010 at 06:52

  8. 23 minutes should be the time that picture lasts on your blog! Take it off and put something else!

    Your number one fan.

    jc

    30 May, 2010 at 16:29


Leave a Reply

