TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New Striptiz portrait – Uroš Abram

with 12 comments

Striptiz, creative portrait rubric of Mladina weekly.

Uroš Abram is a student of Famu academy and he’s exhibiting his work in Simulaker gallery in Novo mesto. He’s exhibiting pictures that were taken by camera obscura. His camera obscura is actually his mouth. He out a piece of photographic paper in his mouth, holding a lens cap with a hole between his lips and then exposing the paper about a minute or so, then he’s reproducing paper on film and then exposing prints. Prints are not ordinary, but are handmade with liquid light emulsion on canvas and old fashionably developed in darkroom. It looks really cool.

About the picture.
It’s a straight shot. No digital manipulation. Inspired by Joe McNally’s cover picture of a book The Moment it Clicks. We went to a glass cutter (or how do you call them) company Steklarstvo Andreja Solkan s.p. (they are great) and in their junkyard I took few broken mirrors. Uroš put a mirror in his mouth and he was holding a large mirror in front of his face, while I was observing how reflection of his face reflects in a second mirror. I was not expecting much, but suddenly I saw a point of view that was working, so we went to Mladina editorial office were we took the final picture. No special lightning techniques. Just a SB900 with a softbox above right and some light from SB800 bouncing from a wall on the left side. Nevertheless I had some problems with a composition. You can imagine that it’s hard to get everything correctly mirrored, but the hardest was how to include the eye in the frame, so composition would work. I took more then fifty images, trying with different apertures (depth of field), different angles of the face, viewpoints, etc… It just didn’t felt right. I knew I’m missing something, but I didn’t know what. Then I rotated the camera and suddenly everything was on it’s place. A true magic 🙂
PS: Uroš Abram is also a mentor at Fotopub festival.

Screen shot 2010-06-07 at 9.44.36 PM

PS: Uroš Abram is also a mentor at Fotopub festival.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow!!!
    It looks…… wow!!!
    I think JC will agree with me!
    Wow!!!

    Igor Motl

    8 June, 2010 at 00:15

  2. Great Photo!!!

    Žiga Lovšin

    8 June, 2010 at 09:19

  3. If leopard man digs it then I have to agree with him…consider yourself lucky you nationalist cefur!

    jc

    8 June, 2010 at 11:39

  4. me – nationalist? I believe I’m more global lokalpatriot!
    Although, today I was wearing a soccer T-shirt with huge sign on my back SLOVENIA 1. and I photograph myself in downtown of Zagreb – Trg Bana Jelačića. But I did that just to show I’m proud that Slovenia is a country of reason although we have few Šešelj-wannabe political figures.
    however I’m proud even if I don’t have rich parents as Paris H. and yourself!

    Borut Peterlin

    8 June, 2010 at 23:25

  5. Life was easier when it was Slavonia…there were no disputes, everyone spoke russian, we hunted dogs for fun, ate pig fat and all had german haircuts.

    You should be proud of Slovenia today…I am…best pizza I ever had came from Piran…

    By the way…I have very rich parents, we all know that…but I just want to make sure IZTOK knows that…no matter how hard you work Iztok, you will never have the amount of money I have for doing nothing!

    Peace

    jc

    9 June, 2010 at 12:03

  6. Uf, i dont like this image. It has terrible expression, horror aesthetic, colors … i can understand connection between presented pictures from exhibition and this portrait. But for me it is on first ball. If he is doing pictures in his mouth (as i understood) it is not enough to put smth in his mouth, you should go deeper and try to make more connections. At the same time i think, you distort his face to much.

    Jani

    11 June, 2010 at 09:37

  7. Holy shit! Jani has given you (Borut) a virtual F… in the A..! Well done Jani. I have been following this blog for quite some time and you are the first (without me included) to make a real critique. I am not kidding. That was awesome! I hope we see more of you on this blog you are greatly needed to off balance the fan club of my main cefur here.

    Enough about that…Congratulations on winning your first WC game!

    jc

    13 June, 2010 at 19:22

  8. ha, ha…
    My thoughts exactly! I will try to make deeper pictures!

    Borut Peterlin

    14 June, 2010 at 16:25

  9. Maybe you shouldn’t make pictures at all.

    jc

    14 June, 2010 at 16:25

  10. Like yourself?

    Borut Peterlin

    14 June, 2010 at 16:26

  11. Is it true that Iztok was gay when he lived in Straza?

    jc

    14 June, 2010 at 16:26

  12. I don’t make pictures…I mean I have some guy from Chinatown that makes them for me but I am the director!

    jc

    14 June, 2010 at 16:27


Leave a Reply

