TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New Striptiz portrait – Jaša Mrevlje, an artist as Superman

with 10 comments

Jasa Mrevlje - a painter, portrayed by Borut Peterlin

Jaša Mrevlje is in spite his age (b.1978) a well established artist. I will not repeat all the acknowledgments that he received, only a remark, that the other day I noticed his piece hanging also in Prime Minister’s office 🙂

Last week there was an opening of U3 Triennal of Slovenia Contemporary Art and I enjoyed his work a lot. Also my daughters were checking out his installation, almost stealing a piglet toy from his installation. For his installations Jaša is recreating gallery space, building new doors, passages, corridors, doors, etc. I love the piece that is exhibited at U3 where there’s a long corridor with brighting light at the end of it and I immediately thought, this is an amazing light for a my Striptiz portrait.

So the concept for this portrait is to interpret Jaša as a rocket being launched with sensational thrust.

From the first moment I knew I’ll have to use photoshop quite a bit, but it’s no problem, if you shoot the picture with that in mind. Because the end result is quite different from what my camera recorded, here is a contact sheet from the shoot (click 2 enlarge). I used available light from the installation and a Nikon SB-800 flash with a softbox.

PS: Thx to Museum of Modern Art in Ljubljana, Miha Colnar, Mladina and of course Jaša

20100618_7875 20100618_7922 Jasa Mrevlje - contact sheet

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Borut, it seems I’m the only commenting on your work these days…if I’m the only guy paying attention to your work shouldn’t you post something that’ll like? Like I’ve said before no worries about the technical data or the contact sheets…don’t need them. I’ve been pushing for you to post the pictures you made of the cows in Straza. Is that so hard for you to do? Am I not your number one fan?

    Congratulations for the way Slovenia has been playing! Too bad they gave up a two goal lead but there goals were great. Very proud.

    jc

    20 June, 2010 at 21:22

  2. ha, ha, ha, …
    Cows in Straža, that should be more then a life time career for someone like mr. V.
    Actually Internet changed in last year so people leave lots of comments on Facebook, but not as much on bolgs. And actually thumbnails of the process receive more views then picture it self since it’s more revealing. I don’t mind sharing my technical secrets, but you know that from Prague 1995 isn’t. You still have my Krokus developing tank?

    Do you remember Jani’s critique on Abram’s portrait? I followed his suggestion and made a deeper portrait. What do you think is it deep enough?

    Borut Peterlin

    20 June, 2010 at 21:41

  3. That tunnel seems to be pretty deep. It should be deep enough.

    Anyway, I like the expression on the Jaša’s face. His left hand… I’m not sure about it, maybe he could move it, so it would really look like he is being launched out of a canon (or nikon, doesn’t matter actually). Otherwise, nice Striptiz, like pretty much all of them 🙂

    Žan Kuralt

    20 June, 2010 at 23:43

  4. i like idea of fighting the feathers, but he is over that. Maybe if there would be still some feathers in front of him.
    Why is he not moving? not up, not down.He’s just there for itself? Diagonals of light makes some dynamic but he is to stable. Just walking after some standard instead establishing new one. Why he is not holding (in his left hand) a basket of eggs, apples or sausages? At least give him a reason to fly. Or to die.

    Jani

    24 June, 2010 at 12:36

  5. Jani, there are some feathers in front of him.

    Žan Kuralt

    24 June, 2010 at 12:56

  6. are we still talking about this picture? feathers or no feathers…lets move on shall we?

    jc

    25 June, 2010 at 08:26

  7. aha, new comments! Sorry, I’ve been working to much lately. This morning I even woke up tired with a headache, but now after an hour of training I feel much better.

    @ Jani,
    Art is not an equation that would bring the same result to all viewers all the time and I don’t share your concerns. I could explain my views, but my views are irrelevant. Your view is only relevant for you and I want to keep it like that.

    More unanswered why’s the better! Let me use this opportunity and quote famous Andy Warhol. On the question what does his work mean, he said: I don’t know.

    Borut Peterlin

    25 June, 2010 at 10:11

  8. great comment! and i agree with you my main cefur…very well put. there s another artist that people often forget but is as relevant as this debate. he was quoted once as saying “i m from barcelona and i know nothing” and that is very similar to warhol’s vision as well.

    i also remember a little something from the early 90s…when borut was asked why he was photographing zombies he simply answered: if i m going to get these kind of comments i m going to stick my dick in the mash potatoes! and he did….good times were had by all.

    jc

    25 June, 2010 at 11:40

  9. M.A.S.H.E.D. P.O.T.A.T.O.E.S.

    I’ll suggest that to my wife, Alenka! Why not, we’ve been together 15 years already, so some mashed potatoes sound like a sound choice once in a while!

    Borut Peterlin

    25 June, 2010 at 11:55

  10. Hm. Dobro napisano, imaš podoben slog pisanja kot Boyd Helm in Trinidad Avarbuch Cestitam :>

    Morgan Searer

    9 November, 2010 at 05:40


Leave a Reply

